Battle Axe

Bill Cokas

ISBN 10: 1470087626 / ISBN 13: 9781470087623
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for Battle Axe.

Description:

Paperback. 260 pages. When his father plays the sax, he blows crowds away. But when Dorsey Duquesne picks up a guitar, he simply blows. Though hes a wealthy software entrepreneur, music just isnt in his bloodand neither is his fathers DNA. When his mother Cherry reveals (at his fathers funeral, of all places) he was adopted at birth, Dorseys tin ear suddenly makes sense. But it also leaves the 40-year-old questioning his identity. Emotionally adrift, he hires a one-eyed strip-mall detective, hoping the missing pieces will provide the peace hes been missing. Meanwhile Cherry, along with Dorseys wife and best friend, are colluding to keep him from finding the long-buried truth about his adoption. A yellowed, anonymous letter leads the vulnerable Dorsey to a dusty vineyard in the Black Forestand straight to a jitterbugging, strudel-baking redhead named Mitzi, who claims to be his birth mother. Employing a well-rehearsed charm, she slowly wins him overand away from his family. While in Germany, and with the help of the axe-wielding village night watchman, Dorsey does some long-overdue growing up. But will his eyes open in time to see his new mom has a darker agenda And will he realize the true definition of family before its too lateBill Cokas unearths a comic mystery at the heart of a fractured family and its botched adoption. Battle Axe is an offbeat, humorous suspense that places quirky, flawed characters in unwelcome situations. Adopted or normal, readers will find something to relate to and someone to root for. Readers who appreciate the colorful characters and unconventional plots of Carl Hiaasen, Janet Evanovich and Bill Fitzhugh should thoroughly enjoy Battle Axe. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.55 avg rating
(55 ratings)

Synopsis: When his father plays the sax, he blows crowds away. But when Dorsey Duquesne picks up a guitar, he simply blows. Though he’s a wealthy software entrepreneur, music just isn’t in his blood—and neither is his father’s DNA. When his neurotic, overprotective mother Cherry reveals (at his father’s funeral, of all places) he was adopted at birth, suddenly Dorsey’s tin ear makes sense. But it also leaves the 40-year-old questioning his identity. Emotionally adrift, he hires a one-eyed strip-mall detective, hoping the missing pieces will lead him to the peace he’s been missing. Meanwhile, Cherry, along with Dorsey’s wife and best friend, are colluding to keep him from finding the long-buried truth about his “adoption.” A yellowed, anonymous letter leads the vulnerable Dorsey to a dusty vineyard in the Black Forest—and straight to a jitterbugging, strudel-baking redhead named Mitzi, who claims to be his birth mother. Employing a well-rehearsed charm, she slowly wins him over—and away from his family. While in Germany, and with the help of the axe-wielding village night watchman, Dorsey does some long-overdue growing up. But will his eyes open in time to see his new “mom” has a darker agenda? And will he realize the true definition of family before it’s too late? Battle Axe is an offbeat, suspenseful novel in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen that places quirky, flawed characters in unwelcome situations. Adopted or “normal,” readers will find something to relate to and someone to root for.

From the Author: Battle Axe is the follow-up to the Kindle Book Review 2012 Semi-Finalist Ring of Fire.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Battle Axe
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hamilton, Christine
Published by Robson Books Ltd (1997)
ISBN 10: 0861051513 ISBN 13: 9780861051519
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Robson Books Ltd, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002450762

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hamilton, Christine
Published by Robson Books Ltd (1997)
ISBN 10: 0861051513 ISBN 13: 9780861051519
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Robson Books Ltd, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002486797

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ford, Ken
Published by Sutton Publishing Ltd (1999)
ISBN 10: 0750918934 ISBN 13: 9780750918930
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sutton Publishing Ltd, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002726652

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hamilton, Christine
Published by Robson Books Ltd (1997)
ISBN 10: 0861051513 ISBN 13: 9780861051519
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Robson Books Ltd, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your book case after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002133832

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rosemary Border
Published by Henderson Publishing Plc. (1995)
ISBN 10: 1862083118 ISBN 13: 9781862083110
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henderson Publishing Plc., 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Usual signs of a well read book but good overall condition. May not look good on your bookcase after reading and probably not suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002516994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stuart R. Scott
Published by Sutton Publishing (1997)
ISBN 10: 184015005X ISBN 13: 9781840150056
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sutton Publishing, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002625026

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Border, Rosemary
Published by Henderson Publishing PLC (1995)
ISBN 10: 1862083118 ISBN 13: 9781862083110
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henderson Publishing PLC, 1995. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96623616

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Rosemary Border,Peter Rutherford,Peter Wilks
Published by Henderson Publishing Plc. 29/08/1995 (1995)
ISBN 10: 1862083118 ISBN 13: 9781862083110
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henderson Publishing Plc. 29/08/1995, 1995. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9781862083110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Christine Hamilton
Published by Robson Books Ltd 01/01/1997 (1997)
ISBN 10: 0861051513 ISBN 13: 9780861051519
Used Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Robson Books Ltd 01/01/1997, 1997. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780861051519

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Published by -
ISBN 10: 1862083118 ISBN 13: 9781862083110
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Vikings, Longships And Battle-Axes This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9781862083110

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 291 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book