Stock Image

La Belle au Bois Dormant (The Sleeping Beauty) Tchaikovsky-Pletnev and: Stravinsky's Petrouchka: a study of piano transcriptions comprising performances and analyses

Vicky Yang

ISBN 10: 3838352556 / ISBN 13: 9783838352558
Published by LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing, 2010
Condition: Good Soft cover
From Books Express (Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 14, 2015 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 212.99 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 3838352556

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: La Belle au Bois Dormant (The Sleeping ...

Publisher: LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing

Publication Date: 2010

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:Good

About this title


As the costs for mounting opera, ballet and orchestral concerts rise and as their audiences dwindle, piano transcriptions of works orchestrated for such concerts can be a viable way of disseminating the music more widely than if the music was presented only in its original form. With this in mind, it can be argued that piano transcriptions of music originally written for instrumental ensemble is still a viable form of musical expression, because the piano is still the most widely used medium for the performance of art music in the Western world. Transcriptions of instrumental and vocal music expand the listening audience for a composer's music while they also increase the repertoire of music for the piano for both amateurs and professionals. As the orchestral score is quite well known, the differentiation created by Pletnev, and the quality of his work, can be immediately perceived by hearing the execution of his scores and being able to cross reference his reductions with the original score. Timing references for the piano score have been included to further facilitate this cross- referencing.

About the Author:

Vicky is the founder & director of Volteggiando Music. She has been judging Piano competitions, uniersity auditions & scholarship across the nation. Since graduating university at 19, she has further her study to three masters and a PhD degree. She has performed and given seminars in USA, Canada, UK, Europe and Asia.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Buy with confidence. Excellent customer service. 30 day return policy.

Books Express LLC
1465 Woodbury Ave
Portsmouth NH 03801

Shipping Terms:

Standard and expedited shipping options include shipping and handling costs. Default shipping is by USPS Media Mail and frequently USPS Priority Mail or UPS Ground is used. Books should arrive within 10-14 business days for expedited shipping, and 20-30 business days for standard shipping. Standard shipping can on occasion take up to 30 days for delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)