Stock Image

Beyond War

Rohde, David

65 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0670026441 / ISBN 13: 9780670026449
Published by Viking, New York, 2013
Condition: Fine Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.75 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Gumshoe Books
West Columbia, SC, U.S.A.

3-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since May 3, 2010

About this Item

pulitzer prize winning author david rohde reimagines american influence in a new middle east. Size: 8vo. Bookseller Inventory # 017597

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Beyond War

Publisher: Viking, New York

Publication Date: 2013

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

The Pulitzer Prize–winning author examines the cardinal failing of Washington’s war on terror

This book distills eleven years of expert reporting for The New York Times, Reuters, and The Atlantic Monthly into a clarion call for change. An incisive look at the evolving nature of war, Rohde exposes how a dysfunctional Washington squandered billions on contractors in Iraq and Afghanistan, neglected its true allies in the war on terror and failed to employ its most potent nonmilitary weapons: American consumerism, technology, and investment. Rohde then surveys post-Arab Spring Tunisia, Turkey, and Egypt, and finds a yearning for American technology, trade, and education. He argues that only Muslim moderates, not Americans, can eradicate militancy. For readers of Steve Coll, Tom Ricks, and Ahmed Rashid, Beyond War shows how the failed American effort to back moderate Muslims since 9/11 can be salvaged.

About the Author:

David Rohde is a columnist for Reuters and The Atlantic Monthly. A former reporter for The New York Times, he is a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the author, with Kristen Mulvihill, of A Rope and a Prayer: A Kidnapping from Two Sides and Endgame: The Betrayal and Fall of Srebrenica. He lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

South Carolina's largest internet antiquarian bookshop with specialties in Southern Literature and South Caroliniana history. Our inventory contains a general stock in most fields of interest, including first editions, modern & hyper modern, mysteries, the law, medicine, Americana, sheet music and art. Other services include: appraisals, search service, catalogues, brochures collection building and mail order. Visit our store in the 763 Antique Mall in West Columbia, SC hours 10am to 5:30 pm. wednesday thru saturday. 1:30pm to 5:30 pm sunday. monday and tuesday by appointment. Hours: Mon-Tues By appointment Wed=Sat 10:30 - 5:30 Sun 1:30 - 5:30

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it¿s described on the Abebooks web sites. If you¿re dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn¿t arrived, you¿re eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we¿ll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer