Stock Image

The Big Rewind: A Memoir Brought to You by Pop Culture

Rabin, Nathan

755 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1416556206 / ISBN 13: 9781416556206
Published by U.S.A.: Scribner, 2009
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Booklegger's Used Books ABAA
Chicago, IL, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since September 15, 1998

About this Item

A fine, clean and tight hardcover copy in a fine jacket/brodart covered. First Edition. SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR. A very nice copy in like new condition. *** WE BOX AND SHIP ALL BOOKS WITH USPS TRACKING. *** WE HAVE BEEN BUYING AND SELLING USED BOOKS FOR OVER 37 YEARS. Bookseller Inventory # 000138A

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Big Rewind: A Memoir Brought to You by ...

Publisher: U.S.A.: Scribner

Publication Date: 2009

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

From the head writer at The Onion A.V. Club, a painfully funny memoir as seen through the sturdy prism of pop culture—for fans of Chuck Klosterman and Augusten Burroughs. 

As  a  child  and  teenager,  Nathan  Rabin  viewed  pop culture as a life-affirming form of escape. As an adult, pop culture became his life. For more than a decade he’s served as head writer for The Onion A.V. Club, and here, by way of music, books, films, and television, he shares his too-strange-for-fiction life story.

Using a specific book, song, album, film, or television show as a springboard to discuss a period in his life, Rabin recounts his Dickensian upbringing with biting wit and brutal, perhaps unwise candor. Throughout a traumatic childhood that sent him ricocheting from a mental hospital to a foster home to a group home for emotionally disturbed adolescents, Rabin reveals that not only did pop culture shape and mold him, it helped save him from suicidal depression, institu- tionalization, and parental abandonment. Perhaps the most entertaining book ever written about depression and sweet, sweet sexual humiliation, The Big Rewind is also an emotional tale of a motherless child’s search for family and acceptance and a darkly comic valentine to Rabin’s irascible, lovable, hard-luck dad.

Featuring unexpected cameos by Billy Bob Thornton, a vomiting Topher Grace, and some dude named Barack Obama, The Big Rewind chronicles the surreal journey of Rabin’s life, and its intersection with the dizzying, maddening, wonderful world of entertainment.

About the Author:

Nathan Rabin was born a bicentennial baby in Kansas City, Missouri. During a Dickensian adolescence he came of age in the Jewish Children’s Bureau group home system. While still a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin, Rabin began writing regularly for a local satirical publication called The Onion. He quickly rose up the ranks of The Onion’s entertainment section, The A.V. Club, to become its first, and only head writer. In 2004 and 2005, he was a regular on AMC’s Movie Club With John Ridley. In 2007, he began the cultishly revered twice-weekly online column, “My Year of Flops,” a feature so popular he decided to continue it indefinitely, despite the project’s title. He lives in Chicago with his two cats.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK. Our store will close at the end of October after 38 years in business. We are currently selling all books at 50% off the marked price. Hard cover mysteries and all cookbooks are $2 each.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Please send all inquiries by email, books listed on the ABEBOOKS website are in our warehouse, not
in our bookshop. Bookstore personnel cannot answer your questions or check the availability of a
book.

We accept cash, checks, International Money Orders and credit cards thru ABEBOOKS. We ship USPS Media Mail with tracking. $5.00 shipping & handling per book, oversize books, art books, and other
heavy books will be slightly higher.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash