On the Black Hill [Signed]: CHATWIN, Bruce (1940-1989) On the Black Hill [Signed]: CHATWIN, Bruce (1940-1989)

On the Black Hill [Signed]

CHATWIN, Bruce (1940-1989)

Published by Jonathan Cape, London, 1982
Condition: Near Fine+ Hardcover
From Fine Editions Ltd (New York, NY, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since September 5, 2006

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 465.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First Impression. 8vo: 248,[2]pp. Publisher's slate grey cloth, spine stamped in gilt, wraparound pictorial dust jacket, by Mon Mohan, unclipped and unpriced (one of the export copies Jonathan Cape issued; priced copies include the exception, "UK only"). Signed by Chatwin (without dedication) on title page. Presented the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for 1982 and the Whitbread First Novel of the Year Award (there is debate as to whether Chatwin's The Viceroy of Ouidah, a fictionalized account of an actual eighteenth-century Brazilian slave trader, published two year before On the Black Hill, should be considered fiction or nonfiction). Near Fine or better (spine tips bumped, stray spot or two to top and fore-edges, short, thin ink line to bottom edge of front cover); About Fine jacket (lightly nicked to one flap fold). Chatwin's first novel (and third book), "written in the tradition of Thomas Hardy and D. H. Lawrence, revives the almost forgotten genre of the pastoral [as it] follows the lives of identical twins [Benjamin and Lewis Jones] whose experience provides a miniature-like perspective on twentieth-century history far from the madding crowd, wars, and disasters. . . . A stage version by Charles Way was first performed in 1986, and in 1987 director Andrew Grieve turned the taciturn pastoral into a successful film version with two Welsh actors, Mike and Robert Gwilym, as Lewis and Benjamin Jones, and hundreds of Radnorshire residents participating as extras." (Literary Encyclopedia) N. B. With few exceptions (always identified), we only stock books in exceptional condition, with dust jackets carefully preserved in archival, removable polypropylene sleeves. All orders are packaged with care and posted promptly. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # BB1529

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: On the Black Hill [Signed]

Publisher: Jonathan Cape, London

Publication Date: 1982

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine+

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine-

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We sell only genuine rare and antiquarian books. Every effort has been made to describe them carefully and accurately, and all are unconditionally guaranteed. Any item may be returned if found unsatisfactory for any reason within 10 days of purchase, with prior notification via email. Refunds are limited to the original purchase price, including initial delivery costs. Returns must be carefully packaged and promptly shipped.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 3 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or over-sized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft