Stock Image

Blood on the Tongue

Booth, Stephen

Published by HarperCollins Publishers, London, UK, 2002
ISBN 10: 0007136285 / ISBN 13: 9780007136285
/ Condition: As New / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 1
From Nothing Like a Good Book (Mt. Sinai, NY, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 275.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Blood on the Tongue

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers, London, UK

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Boldly SIGNED By the Author on the Title Page.

Edition: True First Edition, First Printing.

Description:

In a clear protective Brodart mylar cover. A beautiful unread copy. This novel was a finalist for the CWA Dagger Award and is the author's third novel featuring DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper. The first printing of 'Blood on the Tongue' had a very small print run which sold out before publication and were intended as library editions. The novel involves a mysterious WWII aircraft wreck and a Canadian granddaughter of one of the airmen who arrives trying to track down the past. A touch of shelf wear to crown of spine. Bookseller Inventory # 1002269

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.9 avg rating
(1,692 ratings)

Synopsis:

Blood on the Tongue is a complex, atmospheric police procedural perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

It's a new year for Peak District detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new murders to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter in Edendale, Derbyshire.

It isn't the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Cooper and Fry are put on the case but they have as much questions about the abuse the woman might have suffered in life as they do the circumstances of her death.

The unidentified body of a dead man is found by the roadside. And an intriguing young woman arrives in Edendale desperate to solve a decades old puzzle that has haunted her family: a Royal Air Force bomber crashed into Edendale, in the same spot where the frozen corpse was found, killing everybody on board except for the pilot, who supposedly walked away from the wreck and was never seen again.  With colds and flus and holiday plans thinning out the ranks of the Edendale police force, Cooper and Fry are scrambling to find an explanation for the two recent deaths while being pulled deeper into the mysteries of the past.

Rich with multiple intertwining mysteries, this Cooper and Fry thriller has all of psychological suspense and three dimensional characters that fans have come to expect from Stephen Booth?a master of his craft.

Review: The weather is cold and the clues no warmer as Peak District detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry tackle a medley of mysteries--each one knottier than the last--in English author Stephen Booth's haunting third novel, Blood on the Tongue. The unidentified body of a dead man has turned up on a frosty roadside. An abused woman is found curled in the snow on nearby Irontongue Hill, an apparent suicide. And there's the lingering puzzle of a Royal Air Force bomber that crashed into Irontongue back in 1945, killing everyone on board except for the pilot, who reportedly walked away from the wreckage... and was never heard from again. With leave and sickness decimating the ranks of the Edendale police force, all hands are needed to solve the modern deaths. But constable Cooper finds himself distracted by the World War II tragedy, in large part because of a beguiling young Canadian, the granddaughter of that missing pilot, who's come to Edendale determined to clear her ancestor's name.

Not surprisingly, these various cases eventually intertwine. But how they're linked by time and tragedy provides the intrigue here. Equally involving is the prickly alliance between Cooper, the "too bloody nice" local lad, and his superior, the emotionally guarded outsider, Fry. Plotted for maximum psychological suspense, teeming with singular secondary characters, and capitalizing on Britain's still-poignant memories of the last world war, Blood on the Tongue is an ambitious and remarkably mature work that delivers on the promise Booth showed in his first novel, Black Dog. --J. Kingston Pierce

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Nothing Like a Good Book
Address: Mt. Sinai, NY, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: April 30, 2001
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

TERMS OF SALE:
We accept MasterCard, Visa, Discover, PayPal, American Express, checks drawn on a U.S. bank in USD, Money Orders and Traveler Checks. Please make checks payable to: Charles Spataro

SHIPPING:
I will ship orders paid by cashiers check/money order within 48 hours. Orders paid with PayPal shipped within 48 hours of receipt of confirmatim. Orders paid with personal check will be held for 10 days before shipping. Within the USA the shipping and handling charge is $4.00 for media rate (o...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Modern First editions of Literature, mystery, science fiction, and horror.