The Book of Aron: A novel

Shepard, Jim

Published by Knopf, 2015
ISBN 10: 1101874317 / ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Signed tight copy with very slight lean to spine. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.7 avg rating
(3,049 ratings)

Synopsis: By National Book Award finalist Jim Shepard, a deeply affecting novel that will join the shortlist of classics about the Holocaust and the children whose lives were caught up in it. For readers of Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl, Kenneally's Schindler's List; Szpilman's The Pianist; Anne Michaels' Fugitive Pieces; Markus Zusack's The Book Thief; the works of Pimo Levi and Elie Weisel and Michael Chabon.
     When we meet Aron, he is a beguiling and perceptive and not always happy young boy coming into awareness of himself and his family's struggles. When soon they are driven from the countryside into Warsaw, their lives are changed forever. Aron and a group of boys and girls risk their lives scuttling around the ghetto, smuggling and trading things through the "quarantine walls" to keep their people alive, while they are hunted by blackmailers and Jewish and Polish and German police, as gradually things catastrophically worsen, people begin to disappear, and survival is threatened on all sides. Eventually, Aron comes to know Janusz Korczak, a Jewish-Polish doctor famous for his advocacy of children's rights, whose orphanage was relocated to the ghetto once the Nazis swept in. In the end, he and the children he takes care of, Aron among them, are brought to the station to be put on a train to Treblinka. The Book of Aron is a breathtaking novel of extraordinary craft, humanity, and masterful storytelling. Fearless, and devoid of sentimentality, it looks squarely into the face of unspeakable suffering, evil and lawlessness, revealing the persistence and strength of the human spirit despite all odds and the redemptive power of love. It is nothing less than a masterpiece.

Product Description: The acclaimed National Book Award finalist??one of the United States? finest writers,? according to Joshua Ferris, ?full of wit, humanity, and fearless curiosity??now gives us a novel that will join the short list of classics about children caught up in the Holocaust.

Aron, the narrator, is an engaging if peculiar and unhappy young boy whose family is driven by the German onslaught from the Polish countryside into Warsaw and slowly battered by deprivation, disease, and persecution. He and a handful of boys and girls risk their lives by scuttling around the ghetto to smuggle and trade contraband through the quarantine walls in hopes of keeping their fathers, mothers, brothers, and sisters alive, hunted all the while by blackmailers and by Jewish, Polish, and German police, not to mention the Gestapo.

When his family is finally stripped away from him, Aron is rescued by Janusz Korczak, a doctor renowned throughout prewar Europe as an advocate of children?s rights who, once the Nazis swept in, was put in charge of the Warsaw orphanage. Treblinka awaits them all, but does Aron manage to escape?as his mentor suspected he could?to spread word about the atrocities? 
Jim Shepard has masterfully made this child?s-eye view of the darkest history mesmerizing, sometimes comic despite all odds, truly heartbreaking, and even inspiring. Anyone who hears Aron?s voice will remember it forever.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Book of Aron: A novel
Publisher: Knopf
Publication Date: 2015
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jim Shepard
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2661988191

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jim Shepard
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2669850985

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jim Shepard
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2676858390

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf (2015)
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2015. Book Condition: Good. 1st. N/A. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP83024593

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf (2015)
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2015. Book Condition: Very Good. 1st. N/A. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP84240932

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf (2015)
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2015. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: "This moving novel bears witness to human complexity with an uncompromising compassion. It is also a testament not only to Janusz Korczak and the children in the Warsaw Ghetto but to every child abandoned in war. History must open our hearts to the present and this is Jim Shepard's powerful achievement." --Anne Michaels, author of Fugitive Pieces. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_1101874317

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf (2015)
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Open Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Open Books is a nonprofit social venture that provides literacy experiences for thousands of readers each year through inspiring programs and creative capitalization of books. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000268190

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf (2015)
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf, 2015. Softcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Bookseller Inventory # OD060454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
TextbookRush
(Grandview Heights, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group. Book Condition: Good. Ships SAME or NEXT business day. We Ship to APO/FPO addr. Choose EXPEDITED shipping and receive in 2-5 business days within the United States. See our member profile for customer support contact info. We have an easy return policy. Bookseller Inventory # 42314971

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Shepard, Jim
Published by Knopf
ISBN 10: 1101874317 ISBN 13: 9781101874318
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Very good condition book with only light signs of previous use. Bookseller Inventory # G1101874317I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 56 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book