Stock Image

The Brass Wall: The Betrayal of Undercover Detective #4126

Kocieniewski, David

65 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0805065334 / ISBN 13: 9780805065336
Published by Henry Holt & Co, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2003
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Flash Books (Audubon, NJ, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 26, 2010

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 25.00
Price: US$ 40.80 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

New Unread Hardcover. 1st-Edition-Stated. 1st Printing-Full # Line. Not price clipped. Not a remainder. BEAUTIFUL copy of Book & Dust Jacket. COLLECTOR'S COPY. Bookseller Inventory # 001675

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Brass Wall: The Betrayal of Undercover ...

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2003

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Serpico and Prince of the City, a brilliantly reported true story of power and betrayal in the NYPD set against the worlds of the Mafia and big-city politics

In 1993, Vincent Armanti, Undercover Detective #4126, agreed to infiltrate the branch of the Lucchese family responsible for the homicide of a beloved fireman. Already a legend for successfully posing as a hit man and arms smuggler, Armanti transformed himself into Vinnie "Blue Eyes" Penisi-a veteran hood with an icy stare. Yet, once under cover, Armanti found that the wise guys he was chasing had access to classified police information. Stakes accelerated when the informant was revealed to be the son of the commander of NYPD's Internal Affairs Bureau. Again and again, IAB's detectives compromised Armanti to protect the powerful man's son, but even the police commissioner ignored the situation. Like the fireman who took an oath to serve, Armanti stayed on the job, even when it was clear his life was in danger.

David Kocieniewski, former New York Times police bureau chief, reveals every moment of Armanti's effort to break through the wall enforced by the cops' top brass. Here, with all its compromises, is the city of New York. Here, in all his humanity, is an unforgettable hero, battling for his honor and survival. Here is a remarkable story that ranks with the great police classics.

Review:

The cover of David Kocieniewski’s The Brass Wall, featuring a shadowy figure walking down a dark urban street, is plenty stylish. But one wonders after reading the book if they should have gone ahead and constructed it out of actual celluloid instead of paper since the story it tells seems to have been ripped from a movie screen and placed on the pages of a fascinating true crime story. Detective Vincente Armanti (think a young Pacino or possibly Johnny Depp) is on a deep cover assignment in an area of the Bronx notorious for ties to organized crime and he’s trying to track down whoever set an arson fire that killed a highly regarded New York firefighter. Armanti, according to author and New York Times journalist Kocieniewski, is a highly regarded detective renowned for how seamlessly he infiltrates the world of his suspects and posing as Vinnie "Blue Eyes" Penisi, a Brooklyn hood looking to lay low, he befriends a gang of Mafioso who frequent Sebastian’s bar. All is going well until some loose conversation makes Armanti realize that someone within the NYPD has tipped off his suspects to the investigation, a particularly troublesome development given how enemies of these gentlemen often seem to end up in not one but several garbage bags. In time, that informant is revealed to be the son of one of the top commanders in the NYPD Internal Affairs, necessitating an effort by Armanti to not only save his own life but also root out high-level corruption. The day-to-day details and countless dangers of undercover work are explored in fascinating depth and passages where Armanti realizes he is very close to being killed are packed with suffocating dramatic tension. Since the story is true, there are a few cinematic clichés missing: Armanti loses the girl early and never gets her back and the climax is not a gun fight or a car chase but a satisfying public expose. But these details can be worked out once Martin Scorsese gets a hold of it. --John Moe

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Selling books I've collected over the years. Autographed copies. First editions.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal