Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de un libro Viejo [Story and Adventures of an ... Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de un libro Viejo [Story and Adventures of an ... Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de un libro Viejo [Story and Adventures of an ... Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de un libro Viejo [Story and Adventures of an ...

Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de un libro Viejo [Story and Adventures of an Old Book]

Eroles, Emilio. Illustrator: Antonio Roca

Published by Gremio de Libreros de Barcelona, Barcelona, 1956
Condition: Fine
From White Fox Rare Books, ABAA/ILAB (West Windsor, VT, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 4, 2009

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 250.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

A most unusual promotion for an antiquarian book fair! 43.5 by 31.5 cm. 30 cells with cartoon drawings recounting the life of an 100 year old book -- the actual physical object -- from its first sale to its appearance at an antiquarian book fair! The story is in the tradition of "Black Beauty", "The Memoirs of an Umbrella", or "The Yellow Rolls Royce", all concerning the ups and downs incident to different owners, and in the case of the latter two, there is the commonality of the personification of an inanimate thing. Here, the book starts in Barcelona and in its circuitous path that takes it all the way to Paris and the Eiffel Tower and a Seine "bouquinist", comes to rest finally again in Barcelona in a stall at the Feria Annual del Libro de Occasion, Antiguo y Moderno, still an annual event held by the local booksellers' guild, and thus one of the oldest running antiquarian book fairs today. We note that this is a story arc that resembles that of "Black Beauty". The format of the broadside is called "auca", which is an uniquely Catalan graphic format. The captions, by Eroles, are all three line rhymed couplets in Spanish. In 1972, Eroles wrote and published in Catalan a book on bookselling in Barcelona called "Memoires d'un llibre vell". The broadside can not be found in OCLC. Bookseller Inventory # 004251

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Broadside] "Auca" de la Vida y Adventuras de...

Publisher: Gremio de Libreros de Barcelona, Barcelona

Publication Date: 1956

Binding: NA

Book Condition:Fine

Edition: First edition.

Store Description

Antiquarian books of all kinds, with emphases on color plate books, decorative arts, foreign literature (German, French, Italian, Spanish), children's literature, philosophy, sporting (equine, hunting, shooting).

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it¿s described on the Abebooks web sites. If you¿re dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn¿t arrived, you¿re eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we¿ll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

The shipping cost provided automatically by ABE assumes that the item is the size of an average hardcover book. Since our stock is comprised largely of material which is bigger and heavier, we will often need to request additional shipping charges as a result. We pride ourselves on always packing safely, with the actual materials and method of packing depending on the item(s), where it is going, and with whom we are shipping. We most frequently use the post office, but on some high value items, or upon request, we may use alternatively UPS or FedEx. With the postal service, to domestic destinations with lower value items and the automatically furnished ABE shipping quote, we will usually use Media Mail; on higher value items we are partial to Priority or Express Mail. We will always seek to comply with a customer's wishes if they are communicated to us. When we seek additional shipping charges, we pass along those charges at our cost -- we do not add for handling or materials generally.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment) Check Money Order Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer