Stock Image

The Broken World

Etchells, Tim

51 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0434018333 / ISBN 13: 9780434018338
Published by Heinemann, 2008
Used Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Cathy's Half Price Books (Havertown, PA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 7, 2005

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 17.99 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.25 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Very good, no marks, damage or labels. We Ship Daily! Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000258065

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Broken World

Publisher: Heinemann

Publication Date: 2008

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

About this title

Synopsis:

For fans of Douglas Coupland and J.G. Ballard, The Broken World is an extremely original, off-beat novel – part fiction, part computer game – about life, love and happiness, not just in the real world, but in the online one too.

From the Back Cover:

‘Steers a dizzying path between science fiction and the existential thriller, with writing that is kinetic, street-smart and supremely fertile.’ Rupert Thompson ‘The Broken World is, in short, a page-turner, combining originality with readability...One of our most stimulating writers.’ Michael Moorcock

Very little is known at the start. As the story unfolds, more will be revealed.

Writing an on-line ‘walk-through’ to a computer game of Borgesian complexity can take up a lot of time. So much so, it can be difficult to see things turning sour in the real world. As our narrator grapples with his players’ guide, life starts to intrude in troublesome ways. Things aren’t going so well with the live-in girlfriend (the one who pays the rent) and the job preparing ‘cooked circular food’ is getting increasingly hard to stomach. To top it all, the best friend is clearly depressed and acting weirder by the day.

But despite all this, his attention is focussed on The Broken World – an engrossing, possibly addictive, adventure that takes him from town to town in a struggle with zombies, agents, puzzle and mysteries. It’s not clear which of these worlds - the real or the on-line - is the more challenging, or where survival tips and peer-support are more urgently needed. What is clear is that he must work out solutions to problems involving life and love and happiness, not just in The Broken World, but in the real one too.

‘Phenomenal. Quite scary in its originality, ingenuity and signifigance. Bound to become a cult book, and in serious danger of being a world-wide bestseller.’ Victoria Glendinning

‘The Broken World see Etchells pulling apart the contemporary and creating literature where you might not expect to find it...A wonderful novel.’ Tony White

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

The Greatest Little Used Bookstore in Greater Philadelphia.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

FOR ONLINE ORDERS: We guarantee our books to be in the condition described, and will accept returns within seven days of receipt in the same condition as received. Postage is $4.50 for media mail for the first book. and $2.00 for each additional book shipped in the same order. Priority mail is $6.50 for the first book, and $4.00 for each additional book shipped in the same order. (Oversized or unusually heavy books may cost more and will be shipped at cost). International shipping rates quoted b...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

We use high quality padded envelopes or boxes and all our items are packed with tender loving care to ensure they are delivered on time in the condition described.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express