Stock Image

Buck Fever : A Blanco County Texas Novel

Rehder, Ben

2,304 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0312291140 / ISBN 13: 9780312291143
Published by St. Martin's Press, New York, NY, U.S.A., 2002
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Rascal Books (Kansas city, MO, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 16, 2003

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 98.38 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.25 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

As new. DEBUT. Mylar protected. Bookseller Inventory # 001544

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Buck Fever : A Blanco County Texas Novel

Publisher: St. Martin's Press, New York, NY, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed and Dated By Author

Edition: First Edition/First Printing

About this title


Blanco County, Texas: It's the week before deer hunting season, as close to a statewide holiday you get in Texas, and the locals are getting restless. Red O'Brien and Billy Don Craddock aren't the only good ol' boys out at night spotlighting deer from their pickups, trying to get a jump on the hundreds of hunters that will be out come Saturday. Game Warden John Marlin has his hands full with poaching complaints coming in faster than he can write out-of-season tickets. Then a call of a different sort comes in. A man dressed up in some sort of deer costume has been shot at the Circle S ranch, and witnesses are reporting a massive wild-eyed buck deer prancing about the pasture in a lovesick frenzy.

Marlin's seen a lot in his years, but this is wilder than he could have imagined: the man in the deer suit is a good friend, and the whacked-out whitetail isn't exactly a stranger either. It's the beginning of a mad, frantic weekend in Blanco County, one that will see a few more men shot, an invasion by Colombians with more than hunting on their minds, and damn near the end of Marlin's life. Newcomer Ben Rehder serves it all up with a huge helping of humor in this comic mystery that will firmly establish him as the funniest crime writer in Texas.

From the Inside Flap:

Shooting praise for Buck Fever
"This is a wild and crazy first novel, crowded with weird people, unusual relationships (both animal and human), and frequent humor that will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, and other comic mystery writers. Strongly recommended."-Library Journal (starred review)

"Briskly paced, amusing, spiced with deftly drawn good-old-boy portraits: an altogether promising debut."-Kirkus Reviews

"Buck Fever is a dripping-cold long-neck and a smoldering pile of spent double-aught shells. This one slithers, shakes and strikes like a diamondback. Don't miss it."-Tim Dorsey, author of Florida Roadkill and Triggerfish Twist

"[A] promising debut. . . comes within shooting distance of Hiaasen and Leonard territory."

"A funny, nightmarish tale from the Texas Hill Country, where being a game warden might be harder than being a cop."-Jamie Harrison, author of Blue Deer Thaw

"Ben Rehder's Buck Fever is absolutely the epitome of hunting camp jabber. I was going to write a book exactly like this, then he stole the idea and beat me to the printer."
-TJ Greaney, The Outdoor Zone Radio Show

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

INternet bookseller specializing in collectable signed first editions..

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Missouri residents will be charged 7.85% sales tax.

All items are subject to prior sale. Items are returnable within 7 days of receipt for any reason. Please notify us first.

Rascal, INC
P.O. Box 480601
Kansas City, MO 64148-0601

816 591/0389

Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal