Stock Image

Bulow Hammock: Mind in a Forest

David Rains Wallace

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0871566761 / ISBN 13: 9780871566768
Published by Random House, Inc., 1989
Used Condition: Good Hardcover
From Books Express (Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 14, 2015 Seller Rating 4-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 33.39 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. May be ex-library. Shipping & Handling by region. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0871566761q

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Bulow Hammock: Mind in a Forest

Publisher: Random House, Inc.

Publication Date: 1989

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Good

Edition: 1st - may be Reissue.

About this title

Synopsis:

Linking natural history with the imagination in the tradition of Peter Mathiessen and Stephen Jay Gould, the award-winning author investigates the relationship between the human mind and the natural world through an exploration of Bulow Hammock, a subtropical woodland in Florida.

From Publishers Weekly:

Hammock refers to a hardwood grove in Florida's open marshes and pine woods. Bulow Hammock, north of Daytona, is one of the last stands of forest on the East Coast; action by conservationists saved it from developers, and it is now a State Park. A frequent visitor to the Hammock, Wallace is fascinated by the complexity of life in this woodland-marsh where sub-tropical and north-temperate vegetation meet. As in his prizewinning Idle Weeds and The Klamath Knot , he makes an intensive study of a particular ecosystem. We see Bulow Hammock at different seasons, under varying conditions; Wallace introduces a new dimension as he ponders on the evolutionary process and the relationship of the human brain to other organisms. This is a beautifully proportioned mix of personal reminiscence and natural history; the book deserves a prominent position on the nature bookshelf.
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Buy with confidence. Excellent customer service. 30 day return policy.

Books Express LLC
318 US Route 1, STE 2
Kittery ME 03904


Shipping Terms:

Standard and expedited shipping options include shipping and handling costs. Default shipping is by USPS Media Mail and frequently USPS Priority Mail or UPS Ground is used. Books should arrive within 10-14 business days for expedited shipping, and 20-30 business days for standard shipping. Standard shipping can on occasion take up to 30 days for delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)