The Burma Road: The Epic Story of One of World War II's Most Remarkable Endeavours

Donovan Webster

Published by Pan Books
ISBN 10: 0330427032 / ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.91 avg rating
(272 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor's Stalingrad, Donovan Webster's The Burma Road vividly recreates one of the astonishing and important events of the Second World War -- and the basis for the film The Bridge over the River Kwai. With gripping prose, Webster follows the breathtaking adventures of the Allied 'Hump' pilots who flew hair-raising missions over the Himalayas delivering food and supplies to the 200,000 Chinese labourers charged with creating an overland link with the outside world. For the first time, we learn of the war in Burma from the perspective of the of the soldiers who fought and died there -- the bravery, hardships and fears that motivated them to risk everything to avoid a full Japanese occupancy of China. Touching, moving and riveting, Webster's account of this gruelling and arduous campaign is a brilliant and important history, as well as an epic adventure story. 'A compelling narrative ...The opposing armies pursue one another through tiger-infested jungles, plagued by leeches as they slog miserably from firefight to firefight. This is great material and Webster handles it well' Los Angeles Times

About the Author: Donovan Webster was a senior editor for Outside magazine and now writes for National Geographic, Smithsonian and The New York Times Magazine. He is the author of Aftermath: The Remnants of War. He lives with his family in Virginia, USA.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Burma Road: The Epic Story of One of ...
Publisher: Pan Books
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: VERY GOOD

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Webster, Donovan
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001441361

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Webster, Donovan
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001232168

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Donovan Webster
Published by Pan Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000382383

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
J.L.G
(Saint Maur des Fossés, France)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: D'occasion - Très bon état. Bookseller Inventory # F20A1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.29
From France to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Webster, Donovan
Published by Pan Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P020330427032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 38.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Webster, Donovan
Published by Pan Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Like New. Almost new condition. Bookseller Inventory # P010330427032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 45.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Webster, Donovan
Published by Pan Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110330427032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 56.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Donovan Webster
Published by Pan Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0330427032 ISBN 13: 9780330427036
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Unabridged. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0330427032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 88.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds