ISBN 10: 0553392123 / ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.06 avg rating
(264 ratings)

Synopsis: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN’S JOURNAL · In the tradition of Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm and Robert Kurson’s Shadow Divers comes a true and heartbreaking tale of courage, difficult decisions, and ultimate sacrifice. On the Burning Edge, by award-winning journalist and former wildland firefighter Kyle Dickman, is the definitive account of the Yarnell Hill Fire.
 
On June 28, 2013, a single bolt of lightning sparked an inferno that devoured more than eight thousand acres in northern Arizona. Twenty elite firefighters—the Granite Mountain Hotshots—walked together into the blaze, tools in their hands and emergency fire shelters on their hips. Only one of them walked out.
 
Dickman brings to the story a professional firefighter’s understanding of how wildfires ignite, how they spread, and how they are fought. He understands hotshots and their culture: the pain and glory of a rough and vital job, the brotherly bonds born of dangerous work. Drawing on dozens of interviews with officials, families of the fallen, and the lone survivor, he describes in vivid detail what it’s like to stand inside a raging fire—and shows how the increased population and decreased water supply of the American West guarantee that many more young men will step into harm’s way in the coming years.

Praise for On the Burning Edge
 
“What makes this book a tear-jerking classic is the seamless manner in which Dickman weaves a century of fire-management history into the fully realized stories of the men’s lives—the sweat, the adrenaline, the orange glow of fire within their aluminum shelters, and the chewing gum that hotshot Scott Norris left in the shower before telling his girlfriend, Heather, ‘I’ll take care of it later. I promise.’”Outside
 
“Dickman offers a riveting account of a dangerous occupation and acts of nature most violent—and those who face both down.”Library Journal

About the Author: Kyle Dickman is a former editor at Outside magazine and a former member of the firefighting crew known as the Tahoe Hotshots. He spent five seasons fighting wildfires in California. Dickman’s reporting has been nominated for a National Magazine Award. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with his wife, Turin.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
PlumCircle
(West Mifflin, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Publisher overstock or return with minor shelfwear. May have remainder mark. Leaves our warehouse same or next business day. Most continental U.S. orders lead time 4-10 days. International - most countries 10-21 days, others 4 weeks. Seller Inventory # mon0000863358

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. Condition: Acceptable. Dust Jacket in Acceptable Condition. Hardcover The item is fairly worn but still readable. Signs of wear include aesthetic issues such as scratches, worn covers, damaged binding. The item may have identifying markings on it or show other signs of previous use. May have page creases, creased spine, bent cover or markings inside. Packed with care, shipped promptly. Seller Inventory # E-02-0936

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Softcover. Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good copy.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Seller Inventory # OD026398

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0553392123 New. Seller Inventory # Z0553392123ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kyle Dickman
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light wear to edges and pages. Cover and spine show no easily noticeable damage. Seller Inventory # G0553392123I4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_201646904

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_213477794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Kyle Dickman
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0553392123-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 16.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kyle Dickman
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Condition: UsedAcceptable. book. Seller Inventory # M0553392123_4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 16.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Dickman, Kyle
Published by Ballantine Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0553392123 ISBN 13: 9780553392128
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0553392123

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 14 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book