CALL OF THE NORTH

Malaurie, Jean

ISBN 10: 0810906228 / ISBN 13: 9780810906228
Published by Harry N. Abrams, 2001
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Stella & Rose's Books, PBFA (Tintern, MON, United Kingdom)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 19, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 42.67 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.40 From United Kingdom to U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

1st 2001. Nearly fine condition in a nearly fine dustwrapper. An Explorer's Journey to the North Pole. Large format. Colour photos. Ink mark to bottom page edge. Corners bumped. [S]. Bookseller Inventory # 1704693

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: CALL OF THE NORTH

Publisher: Harry N. Abrams

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardback

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: First edition..

About this title

Synopsis:

Enraptured by the Inuit way of life ever since he became the first Frenchman to reach the North Pole by dog sled in 1951, Jean Malaurie records the disappearing traditions of the Inuits in a photo-documentary that is also an adventure story by one of the great explorers of our age. While leading more than 30 scientific expeditions from Greenland to Siberia, Malaurie has witnessed the changes thrust upon the Inuits as they have been wrenched from their traditional culture into the nuclear age. Malaurie's narrative and the colour photographs document awesome landscapes, daily life in igloos, whale-hunting scenes, shamanic rituals and more.

About the Author:

Jean Malaurie is one of the great explorers of the 20th century, in the tradition of Amundsen, Stefansson, and Shackleton. He is currently director of the prestigious Center for Arctic Studies in Paris.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Established in 1991, we are a family-run business consisting of two shops: Stella Books at Monmouth Road, Tintern, Monmouthshire, NP16 6SE, UK, www.stellabooks.com and Rose's Books at 14 Broad Street, Hay-On-Wye, Hereford, HR3 5DB, UK. www.rosesbooks.com

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Tel: +44 (0)1291 689755. Payment with order. We accept most major Credit and Debit cards including Amex. and PayPal. Orders paid via paypal will be shipped to the address details given with the paypal payment. Our objective is to get the book in the post to you within one working day. Orders received after mid- day UK time on Fridays may not be processed until the following Monday. We aim to answer all emails within 1 business day. Returns: We do our best to make sure that all of our books are d...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 1 business day. UK customers: we offer a flat rate postage, same cost regardless of how many books ordered. Outside UK: Shipping costs are based on books weighing up to 1KG or 2.2lbs. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. All books are sent using Royal Mail or Parcelforce

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal