Stock Image
CARTER BEATS THE DEVIL: Gold, Glen David

CARTER BEATS THE DEVIL

Gold, Glen David

11,031 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0786867345 / ISBN 13: 9780786867349
Published by Hyperion, NY, 2001
Condition: Fine Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 50.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

REVERE BOOKS, abaa & ioba
Valley Forge, PA, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since August 29, 2000

About this Item

First US edition, first prnt. Signed by Gold on the title page. Spine bottom edge of book and dustjacket with tiny shallow wrinkle; otherwise, an unread copy in Fine condition in a Fine dustjacket with a Durafold mylar cover. Gold's first novel. Bookseller Inventory # 9057

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: CARTER BEATS THE DEVIL

Publisher: Hyperion, NY

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

An amazing, richly evocative novel of magic and history in the tradition of E. L. Doctorow and Caleb Carr.

America in the 1920s was a nation obsessed with magic. Not just the kind performed in theaters and on stages across the country, but the magic of technology, science, and prosperity. Enter Charles Carter -- a.k.a. Carter the Great -- a young master performer whose skill as an illusionist exceeds even that of the great Houdini. Fueled by a passion for magic that grew out of desperation and loneliness, Carter has become a legend in his own time. His thrilling act involves outrageous stunts carried out on elaborate sets before the most demanding audiences. But the most outrageous stunt of all stars none other than President Warren Harding and ends up nearly costing Carter the reputation he worked so hard to create. Filled with historical references that evoke the excesses and enthusiasm of postwar, pre-Depression America, Carter Beats the Devil is the complex and illuminating story of one man's journey through a magical -- and sometimes dangerous -- world, where illusion is everything, and everything is illusory.

Review:

In Carter Beats the Devil, Glen David Gold subjects the past to the same wondrous transformations as the rabbit in a skilled illusionist's hat. Gold's debut novel opens with real-life magician Charles Carter executing a particularly grisly trick, using President Warren G. Harding as a volunteer. Shortly afterwards, Harding dies mysteriously in his San Francisco hotel room, and Carter is forced to flee the country. Or does he? It's only the first of many misdirections in a magical performance by Gold. In the course of subsequent pages, Carter finds himself pursued by the most hapless of FBI agents; falls in love with a beautiful, outspoken blind woman; and confronts an old nemesis bent on destroying him. Throw in countless stunning (and historically accurate) illusions, some beautifully rendered period detail, and historical figures like young inventor Philo T. Farnsworth and self-made millionaire Francis "Borax" Smith, and you have old-fashioned entertainment executed with a decidedly modern sensibility.

Gold has written for movies and TV, so it's no surprise that he delivers snappy, fast-paced dialogue and action scenes as expertly scripted as anything that's come out of Hollywood in years. Carter Beats the Devil has a mustachioed villain, chase scenes, a lion, miraculous escapes, even pirates, for God's sake. Yet none of this is as broadly drawn as it might sound: Gold's characters are driven by childhood sorrows and disappointments in love, just like the rest of us, and they're limned in clever, quicksilver prose. By turns suspenseful, moving, and magical, this is the historical novel to give to anyone who complains that contemporary fiction has lost the ability to both move and entertain. --Mary Park

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Revere Books in Valley Forge, PA has been offering fine first editions to collectors and institutions since 1991. American and British literary fiction and poetry are specialties with particular attention to signed copies. Member ABAA & IOBA Listings are updated every business day and the images are of the actual books described and are not stock photos. Orders are shipped the day they are received or next business day in boxes with bubble wrapping. Please browse our stock of more than four thousand titles and feel free to contact us about any listing.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Shipping in US is via USPS priority or media mail at buyer's option. International shipping via USPS Global Priority or First-class air. Orders are shipped same or next business day with notification by email of shipping date and delivery confirmation number.
Please be aware that current shipping rates for orders outside of the United States depending upon the weight of the book(s) and destination may require extra shipping charges which will be requested though the Advanced Book Exchange. If an...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized or requires extra insurance, signature confirmation, etc, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.
Also, please be aware that current shipping rates for orders outside of the United States depending upon the weight of the book(s) and destination may require extra shipping charges which will be requested though the Advanced Book Exchange. If any questions, please inquire before ordering.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express