Stock Image

CHANG AND ENG - Scarce Fine Copy of The First Hardcover Edition/First Printing: Signed by Darin Strauss

Strauss, Darin

Published by New York City, NY: Dutton, 2000
ISBN 10: 0525945121 / ISBN 13: 9780525945123
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Modern Rare (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 44.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 9.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: CHANG AND ENG - Scarce Fine Copy of The ...

Publisher: New York City, NY: Dutton, 2000

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition.

Description:

1st Printing. Signed. 336 pages. Published in 2000. The author's breakthrough debut novel. One of the most important literary events of our time. Published to enormous critical acclaim, it remains Darin Strauss' finest achievement. The First Hardcover Edition. Precedes and should not be confused with all other subsequent editions. Published in a small and limited first print run as a hardcover original only. The First Edition is now scarce. Presents Darin Strauss' "Chang And Eng". A brilliant debut. Born attached at the chest, Chang and Eng Bunker were the first to be called Siamese Twins. They were one of the 19th century's most legendary human oddities. "Narrated by Eng during the final moments of his life, 'Chang and Eng' follows the extraordinary lives of the twins from poverty to wealth, from hopeless solitude to boundless love, from the court of the King of Siam to the crowded bedroom of their North Carolina home. An unforgettable and sublimely moving story that reveals the longings and humanity of these remarkable twins" (Publisher's blurb). There is a whole library on the real-life characters. Darin Strauss seems to have read and sifted through them all, and found the true story. "One of the most riskily imagined and successfully realized novels I've read in years" (Joyce Carol Oates). An absolute "must-have" title for Darin Strauss collectors. This copy is very prominently and beautifully signed in black ink-pen on the title page by Darin Strauss. It is signed directly on the page itself, not on a tipped-in page. He also crossed out his printed name. This title is a contemporary classic. This is one of few such signed copies of the First Hardcover Edition/First Printing still available online and is in especially fine condition: Clean, crisp, and bright, a pristine beauty. A scarce signed copy thus. One of the most brilliant American writers of our time. A fine copy. ISBN 0525945121. Bookseller Inventory # 9854

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.28 avg rating
(1,563 ratings)

Synopsis: Born attached at the chest, Chang and Eng Bunker were the Siamese twins for whom the term was coined, one of the nineteenth century's most fabled human oddities. Now Darin Strauss has rescued the twins from the sideshow of history, drawing from their extraordinary conjoined lives a first novel of exceptional beauty.

Taken from Thailand as adolescents, Chang and Eng toured the world's stages, quickly finding celebrity status while performing in a cage. Where Chang was coarse, gregarious, and prone to drinking spells, Eng was introverted, refined, and an advocate of temperance and education. During their lives they were greeted by royalty, toasted by London, and yet mocked by carnival crowds. The twins eventually married two sisters from North Carolina and settled down to a life of farming and raising two families, which they did with exceptional results by fathering twenty-one children. Though forever bound, they died at separate times. Chang passed away at age sixty-three, four hours before Eng--leaving his brother alone at last.

Narrated by Eng, Chang and Eng follows the twins from poverty to wealth, from solitude to boundless love, from the court of the King of Siam to the crowded bedroom of their North Carolina home. In the tradition of I Was Amelia Earhart and Memoirs of a Geisha, Chang and Eng is an unforgettable and sublimely moving story that reveals above all the longings and humanity of these remarkable twins.

Review: Narrated by Eng, one of a pair of conjoined twins, Chang and Eng is a daring novel that constantly threatens to lose its balance. It's also one that would be hard to believe were it not rigorously grounded in historical fact. Like the (literally) inseparable protagonists of Darin Strauss's debut, Chang and Eng Bunker were born in the early 1800s in a rainy village on the shores of the Mekong Delta. Achieving instant fame as the "Siamese double boy," they toured freak shows throughout China, Europe, and North America. Eventually they settled in North Carolina (of all places), married a pair of sisters, and fathered 21 children between them.

This fictionalized version of their story is narrated by the stronger, more circumspect twin, Eng, who must continually urge Chang to restrain his tears, his burning sexual desires, and his fear of the King of Siam (who has promised to "kill the double-child, the bad omen"). From the beginning, Strauss masterfully delineates the brothers' differences. Yet it's the porous nature of their relationship that will fascinate readers even more. The twins, after all, must always sleep face to face, connected by a fleshy band and the knowledge of their shared monstrosity. The fact that they are neither "he" nor "we" allows the author myriad opportunities for wordplay and psychological riddles. Does Chang love his brother, or does he love himself? When he hates his brother, is it only a piece of himself he is hating? Might the connecting band be its own entity, a pet that the brothers must tend to and feed? When they were children, Eng recalls, the band

was about two inches long, and Chang loved it. He called it Tzon, or ripe banana, and wailed if ever I mentioned severing it. It was more taut then, and would crackle like an old knee when we inched closer or farther apart (no one had any idea the thing would grow with us, and one day allow lateral positioning). I often fidgeted with a stretch of brown leathery skin--a hairy birthmark--midway across it, and also a little brown dot, a charming dinky island that lived, insolently, just free from the shoreline of the larger birthmark.
The novel's agile prose is like a smooth, strong current, pulling the twins away from their awkward lives. To his great credit, Strauss spends very little time dwelling on Chang and Eng as monsters, and their freak-show existence surfaces only in short, painful flashbacks--a jeering interlude that the narrator would sooner forget. And Eng's voice is a compelling one, full of quips, insecurities, and jealousy. Indeed, at some moments he seems like a standard-issue Renaissance man, reading Shakespeare in the afternoon, dreaming about pretty women, recounting his extensive travels. Yet the tragic fact remains: no matter how many countries this cosmopolitan visits, he will never have a room to himself. --Emily White

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Modern Rare
Address: CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: April 10, 2001
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

ModernRare.com is exclusively an online bookstore. Our physical address is 124
N. California Ave, Chicago, Illinois 60612, U.S.A. Our fax number is 501-632-

  1. The main contact person is Salvador L. Cortes. He can be reached at 312-
    376-5000 during regular business hours, Monday to Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
    p.m., Chicago/Midwestern Standard Time.

Email is usually the best way to reach us: info@modernrare.com We will respond
to your email query within 24 hours.

We are exclusively an online bo...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping rates are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If the book is heavy or oversize, particularly Art, Photography, and Erotica titles, we will contact you to let you know extra shipping is required, based on actual cost. Every year, the shipping/dispatch rates of the United States Postal Service (USPS) as well as the private services relentlessly increase. PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT MAKE MONEY ON SHIPPING. BUT WE CANNOT AFFORD TO SUBSIDIZE IT EITHER. Thank you for your patience and understanding.


Store Description: ModernRare.com is exclusively an online bookstore. Our physical address is 124 N. California Ave, Chicago, Illinois 60612, U.S.A. The main contact person is Salvador L. Cortes. He can be reached at 312-376-5000 during regular business hours, Monday to Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Chicago/Midwestern Standard Time. Email is usually the best way to reach us: info@modernrare.com We will respond to your email query within 24 hours. We are exclusively an online bookstore because we believe this is the best way to satisfy our customers' expectations. Unlike an open bookstore, where books are routinely handled and may deteriorate, we guarantee the condition of our books as described. We specialize in modern firsts, photography, the arts, and erotica. You will also find a fine selection of signed copies, Limited Editions, and memorabilia because our ultimate goal is to deepen the pleasure of collecting books. We carry titles that we ourselves like and believe in -- books that we think will excite, enchant, and endure. Please note: Payment needs to be made directly through ABEBooks. If you wish to make any other payment arrangement, please get in touch with us before placing your order. Thank you and happy collecting!