In CHEAP We Trust: The Story of a Misunderstood American Virtue

Weber, Lauren

Published by Back Bay Books, 2010
ISBN 10: 0316030295 / ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.45 avg rating
(381 ratings)

Synopsis: What does it mean to be cheap? When is it mature to stow money away and when is it miserly, even Scrooge-like? And how might Americans navigate the economic downturn in an era when everything seems disposable and when credit has felt dangerously unlimited?

In answering these questions, IN CHEAP WE TRUST combines a consideration of cheapness as it relates to personality, lifestyle, and philosophy with a colorful ride through the history of thrift in America, from Ben Franklin and his famous maxims to Hetty Green, the 19th-century millionaire named by Guinness as "the world's most miserly person," to the branding of Jews, Chinese, and other ethnic groups as cheap in order to neutralize the economic competition they represented. Weber also explores contemporary expressions and dilemmas of thrift, from Dumpster-diving to Keynes's "Paradox of Thrift" to today's recession-driven enthusiasm for frugal living.

This is a book in the tradition of Mary Roach and Andrew Solomon--a compulsively readable, popular biography of thrift itself.

About the Author: Lauren Weber was formerly a staff reporter at Reuters and Newsday. She has also written for the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, American Banker, and other publications. A former resident at Yaddo, Lauren graduated from Wesleyan University and was a Knight-Bagehot fellow, a fellowship that invites 10 business journalists each year to study finance and economics at Columbia's Graduate School of Business.

Weber grew up with a father whose creative and eccentric ways of saving money included rationing household toilet paper and developing a gas-saving method of driving in which light pedal taps substituted for full braking.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: In CHEAP We Trust: The Story of a ...
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Publication Date: 2010
Book Condition: Good
Edition: Reprint.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Weber, Lauren
Published by Back Bay Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Coas Books, Inc.
(Las Cruces, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The cover image and date may vary. Possible defects such as light shelving wear may exist. May have minor creasing, writing, stickers and/or residue. COAS Books, A Bookstore for Everyone. Ships Within 24 Hours - Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001018262

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lauren Weber
Published by Back Bay Books
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2795039833

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lauren Weber
Published by Back Bay Books
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2795330447

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lauren Weber; David Rothkopf
Published by Little Brown & Company
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Brown & Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0316030295I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lauren Weber; David Rothkopf
Published by Little Brown & Company
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Brown & Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Bookseller Inventory # G0316030295I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lauren Weber; David Rothkopf
Published by Little Brown & Company
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Brown & Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0316030295I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lauren Weber
Published by Back Bay Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0316030295

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Weber
Published by Little, Brown and Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown and Company, 2008. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780316030298

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.58
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Weber, Lauren
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780316030298

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

David J. Rothkopf
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0316030295 ISBN 13: 9780316030298
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2010. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Superclass - politicians, military leaders, finance gurus, energy barons, media moguls and thought leaders - is the small group that currently plays the greatest role in shaping the progress of globalisation and perhaps the group most changed by that phenomenon, so much so that they have more in common with one another than they do with their own countrymen. And because this group frequently operates outside all national and international regulation, they are often in conflict with the elite in their own countries. Rothkopf offers a provocative and trenchant examination of the overlapping international power clusters. He reveals who is a member of this global Superclass and who is likely to be joining it and transforming it in the years ahead. And he will explore how the aggressive pursuit of self-interest by some in this class helped to create a world in which inequity is greater than ever - something that may well threaten international stability in our lifetimes. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780316030298

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 26 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book