Stock Image

Caligula : The Tyranny of Rome

Jackson, Douglas

738 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0593060601 / ISBN 13: 9780593060605
Published by Bantam Press, London, UK, 2008
Condition: Fine Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 60.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Charles E. Pate
Owens Cross Roads, AL, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since June 17, 2014

About this Item

DJ is protected by mylar sleeve. All books are shipped boxed. Language: eng Language: eng. Bookseller Inventory # 000095

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Caligula : The Tyranny of Rome

Publisher: Bantam Press, London, UK

Publication Date: 2008

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: 1st Edition..

About this title

Synopsis:

A major new historical epic, in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Caligula brilliantly combines impeccable research and historical detail with the power and pace of the best thriller writing.

Gaius Julius Caesar Augustus Germanicus, the third Roman Emperor, is better known by another name: Caligula, a name synonymous with decadence and cruelty. His reign was marked by excess, huge building projects, the largest gladiatorial battles Rome was ever to see — men and animals killed in their hundreds — conspiracies and sexual scandal.

Rufus as a young slave grows up far from the corruption of the imperial court. His master is a trainer of animals for the gladiatorial arena. Rufus has a natural ability with animals, a talent for controlling and schooling them. It is at the arenas that Rufus meets Cupido, one of Rome’s greatest gladiators.

It is his growing reputation as an animal trainer and his friendship with Cupido that attracts the cruel gaze of the Emperor. Caligula wants a keeper for the imperial elephant and Rufus is bought from his master and taken to the palace, where life is dictated by Caligula’s ever shifting moods. Caligula is a megalomaniac who declares himself a living god and simultaneously lives in constant fear of plots against his life. But his paranoia is not misplaced; intrigue permeates his court, and Rufus and Cupido find themselves unwittingly placed at the centre of a conspiracy to assassinate the Emperor.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

About the Author:

Douglas Jackson is an assistant editor at The Scotsman.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

A high quality assortment of fiction from the US and UK many signed.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. This does not affect your statutory consumer rights includ...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express