The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca

Shah, Tahir

Published by Bantam Books, 2006
ISBN 10: 0553803999 / ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

IOBA. Moisture rippling on page bottoms, corners; The Anglo-Afghan travel writer moved his small family to a dilapidated, sprawling mansion in Casablanca, Morocco and has fixed it up and lives there now ten years later. Very interesting East-West look at Moroccan culture, superstitions, jinns, etc. ; 349 pages Good rounded, jacket shelfworn. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.96 avg rating
(4,683 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems....

Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.

With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it.

Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.

About the Author: Tahir Shah was born into an Anglo-Afghan family with roots in the mountain stronghold of the Hindu Kush. His ten books have chronicled a series of fabulous journeys. He lives with his wife and two children in Casablanca.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca
Publisher: Bantam Books
Publication Date: 2006
Binding: Hardcover
Edition: Third Printing.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
TextbookRush
(Grandview Heights, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Condition: Acceptable. Ships SAME or NEXT business day. We Ship to APO/FPO addr. Choose EXPEDITED shipping and receive in 2-5 business days within the United States. See our member profile for customer support contact info. We have an easy return policy. Seller Inventory # 44284771

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Bantam, U.S.A. (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Second Site Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, U.S.A., 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. 1st Edition. Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city s caliph, or spiritual leader. With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir s fantasy until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Seller Inventory # 003557

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Shah Tahir
Published by Bantam Books, New York (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cellar Stories Bookstore
(Providence, RI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books, New York, 2006. Hard Cover. First edition. 349 pp. 8vo. Hardcover in dustjacket. Jacket spine foot bumped. Minor wear to lower board edges, foot bumped. Interior clean, binding tight. Near Fine in Near Fine Dust Jacket. Seller Inventory # 125221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tahir Shah
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0553803999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 16.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookStore Independent
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # 14654149

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 24.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.97
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. 0553803999 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # POXM-0553803999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 27.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookHunter1
(Somerset, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0553803999. Seller Inventory # SKU1004395

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tahir Shah
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0553803999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tahir Shah
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0553803999

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Shah, Tahir
Published by Bantam (2006)
ISBN 10: 0553803999 ISBN 13: 9780553803990
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookStore Independent
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SKU9393822

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 33.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.97
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 7 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book