Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Jennifer Worth

Published by Ecco, 2013
ISBN 10: 0062270060 / ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.24 avg rating
(9,684 ratings)

Synopsis:

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

About the Author:

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End
Publisher: Ecco
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2013. Book Condition: Good. Reprint. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP68820131

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jennifer Worth
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2799570402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jennifer Worth
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2799573767

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jennifer Worth
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2803348080

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jennifer Worth
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2807752495

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Seattle Goodwill
(Seattle, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Bookseller Inventory # 0KVBHV0033JC

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Worth, Jennifer
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Goodwill Industries
(Spokane, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Book Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # L-1-3-01751

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jennifer Worth
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2812713308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jennifer Worth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Bookseller Inventory # G0062270060I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jennifer Worth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062270060 ISBN 13: 9780062270061
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Bookseller Inventory # G0062270060I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 41 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book