The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel

Kim, Eugenia

Published by Tantor Audio
ISBN 10: 1400143543 / ISBN 13: 9781400143542
Used / Audio CD / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel by Kim, Eugenia.

Description:

Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.78 avg rating
(5,061 ratings)

Synopsis: In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother?but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.

In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

About the Author: Eugenia Kim has published short stories and essays in journals and anthologies, including Echoes Upon Echoes: New Korean American Writings, and is the author of the novel The Calligrapher's Daughter.

Lorna Raver, an accomplished stage actress, has also guest-starred in many top television series as well as appearing on the big screen. She has been named a Best Voice of the Year by AudioFile magazine and has been nominated for multiple Audie Awards. Lorna has also received numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards for her narrations.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Publisher: Tantor Audio

Binding: Audio CD
Book Condition: Fair

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2653056777

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2664316900

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2670322988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory # 2674448936

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2684014660

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2686668583

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Henry Holt and Co.
ISBN 10: 0805089128 ISBN 13: 9780805089127
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt and Co. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2686710322

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Eugenia Kim
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 0805092269 ISBN 13: 9780805092264
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory # 2665533600

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eugenia Kim
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 0805092269 ISBN 13: 9780805092264
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. May have light creases on the cover and binding. Some pages may contain writing and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2679551095

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Eugenia Kim
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 0805092269 ISBN 13: 9780805092264
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2682096138

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 68 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book