Stock Image

Carmen Astrologicum Elegiacum

Anubio Poeta Astrologus

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 3598712286 / ISBN 13: 9783598712289
Published by Walter de Gruyter, 2003
New Condition: Neuf Hardcover
Buy New
List Price: US$ 56.00
Price: US$ 47.21 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.59 From France to U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Librairie Guillaume Bude-Belles Lettres
Paris, France

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since July 10, 2012

About this Item

Edited by Dirk Obbink. Collection Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum Et Romanorum Teubneriana. Présentation de l'éditeur : "This is the editio princeps, based on new papyrus discoveries, of a Greek poem on astrology by an author whose notorious collaborations with Simon Magus is novelistically recounted in the Clementina. A versified handbook of horoscopes and introduction to the sciences, it is the only Greek astrological poem to have been written in elegiac couplets, and ist a new accession to the corpus of didactic poetry in the tradition of Aratus' Phaenomena, Manilius' Astronomica, and Ovid's Fasti. The edition offers a collection and complete re-edition of the remains of the poem's original four books: published and unpublished papyri, plus fragments and testimonia preserved in the secondary tradition.". Bookseller Inventory # ABE-17214834308

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Carmen Astrologicum Elegiacum

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter

Publication Date: 2003

Binding: Couverture rigide

Book Condition: Neuf

About this title

Synopsis:

This is the very first edition of the only Greek astrological work ever written in verse. Dating back to the first century AD, this didactic poem complements what we have so far gleaned from Aratus' 'Phaenomena,' 'Manilius,' 'Astronomica,' and Ovid's 'Fasti.'

Review:

"In addition to historians of astrology, scholars of Hellenistic and didactic poetry will also want to use this fine Teubner edition."Roger Beck in: Bryn Mawr Classical Review 09/2007

-In addition to historians of astrology, scholars of Hellenistic and didactic poetry will also want to use this fine Teubner edition.-
Roger Beck in: Bryn Mawr Classical Review 09/2007



"In addition to historians of astrology, scholars of Hellenistic and didactic poetry will also want to use this fine Teubner edition."
Roger Beck in: Bryn Mawr Classical Review 09/2007

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Librairie éditoriale des Belles Lettres et spécialisée sur l'Antiquité (tous éditeurs confondus), nous proposons depuis 1926 un choix exigeant et international de publications concernant les textes bilingues, les essais d'histoire et de civilisation et la philosophie des périodes anciennes.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Articles neufs, ni repris ni échangés.


Shipping Terms:

Les commandes sont généralement expédiées sous deux jours pour la France, au maximum sous une semaine. Entre 3 et 10 jours pour l'étranger. Nous accordons un soin tout particulier à l'emballage, résistant et approprié. Nous accompagnons nos envois de marque-pages et de catalogues d'éditeurs suivant les disponibilités du moment.
Vous pouvez retrouver tous les livres vendus en ligne directement dans notre boutique parisienne, 95 bd Raspail, Paris 6e.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check