la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers

Carlip, Hillary

ISBN 10: 1905264178 / ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Support Your Planet. Buy CLEAN EARTH BOOKS. Shipping orders swiftly since 2008. A great value for the avid reader! GOOD can range from a well cared for book in great condition to average with signs of slight wear. Overall, All text in great shape! Comes with our 100% Money Back Guarantee. Our customer service cant be beat! Tracking included on all orders. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.38 avg rating
(260 ratings)

Synopsis: A comic original in the tradition of Tracey Ullman and Lily Tomlin—with Cindy Sherman's eye—Hillary Carlip transforms herself into America's most unforgettable grocery shoppers. It's happened to all of us—we find, tucked away in the corner of our shopping cart, someone's discarded grocery list. Who's the person buying "Whole milk, heavy cream, ice cream, cheese, and Gas-Ex?" Why would someone need to write down "Coors and Oreos" on a matchbook cover—couldn't he just remember those two items? And what's the person like who scrawled their list on a PROZAC notepad? Taking her clues from the items listed, the types of paper written on, the handwriting, and even misspellings ("Aunt Spray"), Hillary saw that each list—at once mundane and personal—offered an intimate peek into a complete stranger's life. She chose 26 lists and imagined who the shoppers might be. She then transformed herself into all 26 people, one by one, literally stepping into each character—all ages, genders, and ethnicities—with hair, makeup, outfits, and one Fu Manchu. Photographer Barbara Green then captured unforgettable images of Hillary portraying these shoppers at their neighborhood markets. Hillary came to love these characters, so her accompanying stories for each are as poignant and hilarious as the photographs. She brings to life richly imagined inner worlds, including one for macho Woody, a self-described "Lady's Man with NO BANKRUPTCIES ready to meet just one Special Lady with NO KIDS." After getting to know these grocery shoppers through Miss Carlip's dedicated voyeurism, going to the supermarket will never be the same.

About the Author: Hillary Carlip’s memoir, Queen of the Oddballs: And Other True Stories from a Life Unaccording to Plan, is an American Booksellers Association Book Sense Pick” and was selected by Borders as one of the Top Literary Memoirs of 2006. She has appeared on countless radio and TV shows, including Oprah and the Ellen DeGeneres Show. The creator, host, and editor of the acclaimed literary website freshyarn.com, she lives in Los Angeles.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery ...
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Carlip, Hillary
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Book Condition: Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP23806584

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Carlip, Hillary
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Book Condition: Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP95801922

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Virgin Books
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2790435643

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Ebury Publishing
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Bookseller Inventory # G1905264178I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Ebury Publishing
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Very good condition - book only shows a small amount of wear. Bookseller Inventory # G1905264178I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Carlip, Hillary:
Published by Virgin Books, (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Fördebuch *Preise inkl. MwSt.*
(Eckernförde, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. gebundene Ausgabe. Book Condition: Gut. 120 Seiten mit OSU Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 630. Bookseller Inventory # 188697

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.30
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Library House Internet Sales
(Grand Rapids, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Former library book. Mylar protector included. Moderate shelf wear. Ex-Library. Bookseller Inventory # 123517779

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG1905264178

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hillary Carlip
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
yoUBeeyoU
(RIO RANCHO, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. 1st Edition. Signed and inscribed by the author on the title page. First Edition with complete number line. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-15941902039

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 18.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Carlip, Hillary
Published by Virgin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1905264178 ISBN 13: 9781905264179
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
curtis paul books, inc.
(Northridge, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virgin Books, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. First Edition. Signed on title page by author and photographer. ; 8.10 X 8 X 0.80 inches; Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 16080

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 19.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 4 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book