Stock Image

The Cartographer of No Man's Land.

Duffy, P. S.

ISBN 10: 0871403765 / ISBN 13: 9780871403766
Published by Liveright Publishing, 2013
Used Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From Manny Recidro Books (San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 4, 1999 Seller Rating 4-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 19.50 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First Printing. 8vo. Author inscribed, signed, and dated October 28, 2013 on the title page. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket in clear DJ cvr. Bookseller Inventory # 21293

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Cartographer of No Man's Land.

Publisher: Liveright Publishing

Publication Date: 2013

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I.

In the tradition of Robert Goolrick’s A Reliable Wife and Karl Marlantes’s Matterhorn, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.

When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief. With the intimacy of The Song of Achilles and the epic scope of The Invisible Bridge, The Cartographer of No Man’s Land offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.

About the Author:

P. S. Duffy grew up in Baltimore, Maryland, and spent summers sailing in Nova Scotia. She is a science writer for the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, where she lives with her husband.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

General stock with emphasis on Military, Naval, Aviation, and Philippine related titles.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items are offered subject to prior sale. All prices are net, but discounts are available to repeat customers. Payment must accompany order for those sending in payment by mail. Payment can be by check, money order, bank draft or International Money Orders. We do not process credit cards at this time, but we accept credit card payments through ABE or through PayPal. Items may be returned within ten days of receipt with prior notice. E-mail works best with us, and we are sorry if we are unable...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal Bank Draft