Caucasian Battlefields. A History of the Wars on the Turco-Caucasian Border 1828-1921.

ALLEN, W. E. D., & Paul Muratoff.

Published by Cambridge: At the University Press, 1953, 1953
From Peter Harrington. ABA member (London, United Kingdom)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 26, 1999

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 887.29 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 18.57 From United Kingdom to U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Octavo. Original blue buckram, title gilt to spine. In the dust jacket. Some foxing, as often, front, back, and fore-edge, ownership inscription to the front free endpaper and title page, , but a very good copy in unclipped, jacket, foxed and tanned at the spine, and internally reinforced on the folds. Frontispiece and 7 other plates, 8 folding maps, 17 full-page maps, and 14 sketch maps to the text. First edition. The work of the extraordinary scion of a theatrical family and a brilliant Russian emigré, this work was described on publication as "the most complete and authoritative study of this subject available in the English language" (Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, XIX, 1, p206), and has recently been confirmed as "a classic study" (ODNB). Allen "was a man of many talents: a gentleman, a businessman, a philosopher, an adventurer, but continuously and most powerfully an energetic historian and linguist. He made his library, later held by the University of Indiana, the finest private collection of books on Georgia and the Caucasus in the Western world. Throughout his life he travelled extensively in remote places and may be the only person to have walked the entire length of the Turkish-Russian frontier"; an essayist, cultural historian, novelist and playwright, Muratoff was cited in Clive James' Cultural Amnesia as a prime example of "just how brilliant somebody can be and still be a forgotten man", having published an account of a tour of Italy, Obrazy italii (1911-24), "one of the most dazzling books of its type ever written. As a book on the Italian Grand Tour it not only stands directly in the tradition of Goethe, Gregorovius, Burckhardt and Arthur Symons, but it is better than any of them". Bookseller Inventory # 85150

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Caucasian Battlefields. A History of the ...

Publisher: Cambridge: At the University Press, 1953

Publication Date: 1953

Edition: 1st Edition

Store Description

Peter Harrington Antiquarian Bookseller has grown to become one of the largest and best known rare booksellers in Europe. Member of the ABA and ILAB. Visit us in the UK at 100 Fulham Road, Chelsea, London SW3 6HS Phone +44 (0)20 7591 0220 Fax +44 (0)20 7225 7054 www.peterharrington.co.uk

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All major credit cards are accepted. Both UK pounds and US dollars (exchange rate to be agreed) accepted. Books may be returned within 14 days of purchase for any reason, but please notify first of returned goods.


Shipping Terms:

All shipped items are expertly packed and fully insured. All books to be sent by Recorded Delivery (UK) or signed-for Air Mail (overseas) service. UPS Express shipping also available. Packaging and insurance costs are included. Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer