Caviar: The Strange History and Uncertain Future of the World's Most Coveted Delicacy

Inga Saffron

Published by Broadway, 2003
ISBN 10: 0767906241 / ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.69 avg rating
(113 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Cod and Olives: a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.

Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts, today caviar is an icon of luxury and wealth. In Caviar, Inga Saffron tells, for the first time, the story of how the virgin eggs of the prehistoric-looking, bottom-feeding sturgeon were transformed from a humble peasant food into a czar’s delicacy–and ultimately a coveted status symbol for a rising middle class. She explores how the glistening black eggs became the epitome of culinary extravagance, while taking us on a revealing excursion into the murky world of caviar on the banks of the Volga River and Caspian Sea in Russia, the Elbe in Europe, and the Hudson and Delaware Rivers in the United States. At the same time, Saffron describes the complex industry caviar has spawned, illustrating the unfortunate consequences of mass marketing such a rare commodity.

The story of caviar has long been one of conflict, crisis, extravagant claims, and colorful characters, such as the Greek sea captain who first discovered the secret method of transporting the perishable delicacy to Europe, the canny German businessmen who encountered a wealth of untapped sturgeon in American waters, the Russian Communists who created a sophisticated cartel to market caviar to an affluent Western clientele, the dirt-poor poachers who eked out a living from sturgeon in the aftermath of the Soviet collapse and the “caviar Mafia” that has risen in their wake, and the committed scientists who sacrificed their careers to keep caviar on our tables.
Filled with lore and intrigue, Caviar is a captivating work of culinary, natural, and cultural history.
From the Hardcover edition.

From the Back Cover: “Here’s whatever is worth knowing about Romanoff and Petrossian and the remarkable history of beluga, osetra, or sevruga eggs, all in this one basket, served with much style.”
Kirkus Reviews
“To give the caviar trade a human face, Saffron offers portraits of both historical and contemporary Russian, Greek, and German personalities who have dedicated their lives to expanding the market for this regal roe. -- Mark Knoblauch, Booklist
“Caviar started out as pig slop...how this same gunk was transformed into a delicacy is...fascinating.” -- Forbes Magazine
“This is a dandy book.” -- Richard Lourie, New York Times Book Review
“[Saffron] does a delightful job relating caviar’s unlikely transformation from peasant fare to aristocratic delicacy to bourgeois status symbol.” -- The Philadelphia Inquirer
“In her sharp-eyed, informative and briskly written book “Caviar,” Saffron examines the natural, economic, and gastronomical history of the sturgeon and its eggs.” -- Los-Angeles Times
“An enchanting book on a deliciously mysterious subject.” -- Baltimore Sun
“Written with an elegance befitting the subject, Caviar is a fascinating work of culinary and environmental history.” -- USA Today
“Saffron writes with color and flair.” -- The Christian Science Monitor
“Fascinating....affecting...Part natural history, part culinary history....a modern parable about greed and loss...Saffron has done a nimble job of dramatizing it in the most vivid of terms, leaving the reader with a understanding of how the fate of a fish has been determined by the vicissitudes of politics and business, by technological advances and shifting cultural appetites.” -- Michiko Kakutani, New York Times
“Inga Saffron is a journalist who knows how to tell a story... [her] book that tracks the fate of these fascinating eggs from peasant fare to the ultimate luxury, from the Black Sea to San Francisco, from abundance to near-extinction. Along the way, she introduces scenes and characters with a journalist's passion for detail.” -- Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Caviar: The Strange History and Uncertain ...
Publisher: Broadway
Publication Date: 2003
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Inga Saffron
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0767906241I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Inga Saffron
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Free State
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. This copy shows very minor wear. Bookseller Inventory # G0767906241I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Inga Saffron
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0767906241I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Inga Saffron
Published by Broadway Books
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Book has appearance of only minimal use. All pages are undamaged with no significant creases or tears. Bookseller Inventory # G0767906241I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Saffron, Inga
Published by Broadway
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orphans Treasure Box
(Champaign, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Good. 0767906241 Ships quickly. Mild to moderate shelf/reading wear. Orphans Treasure Box sells books to raise money for orphans and vulnerable kids. Bookseller Inventory # BAZ-102717EAG011

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Saffron, Inga
Published by Broadway (2003)
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Bookseller Inventory # S_187508904

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Inga Saffron
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Samwise Books
(Waikato, ., New Zealand)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway, New York. 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Some handling wear. Clean interior. Bookseller Inventory # 004125

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.00
From New Zealand to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Inga Saffron
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Samwise Books
(Waikato, ., New Zealand)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway Books, New York, 2002. Trade paperback. Book Condition: Good Plus. Ex library with laminated covers. Very clean interior. Bookseller Inventory # 017919

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.00
From New Zealand to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Saffron, Inga
Published by Broadway (2003)
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Bookseller Inventory # S_201686235

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Inga Saffron
Published by Broadway (2003)
ISBN 10: 0767906241 ISBN 13: 9780767906241
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Broadway, 2003. Book Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 0767906241-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 16.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 11 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book