Stock Image
The Cay (SIGNED): Taylor, Theodore The Cay (SIGNED): Taylor, Theodore The Cay (SIGNED): Taylor, Theodore The Cay (SIGNED): Taylor, Theodore

The Cay (SIGNED)

Taylor, Theodore

28,258 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0385079060 / ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Published by Doubleday, Garden City, N.Y., 1970
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Cat's Curiosities (Pahrump, NV, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 20, 2007

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 15.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Copyright 1969 but no printing stated; numerous 1970 awards listed to rear jacket flap. $7.95 price has been pasted over original price on front flap. Quarter-bound in black over yellow cloth. Coded V-11 to gutter of final page of text; NO book-club deboss. Dated Nov. 17, 1981, inscribed & signed in full to the FFE by author Taylor. (Note to those in Westminster, Calif. and Derry, N.H. who have trouble understanding the word "inscribed": this word means the author has written words other than his own name -- frequently a salutation to the original buyer -- in this book. As an aid to those who are not native English-speakers or who otherwise have problems with reading comprehension, we attach one or more SCANS of the inscribed page with our listing of this book, as with each of our signed or inscribed books. If you have any doubts about what we mean when we report this book has been "inscribed," please see attached scans before ordering. Please do not order this book and then write us to complain "You didn't TELL me he wrote 'Dear Adam --'") 137 pp. Bookseller Inventory # 001930

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Cay (SIGNED)

Publisher: Doubleday, Garden City, N.Y.

Publication Date: 1970

Binding: Hardcover

Illustrator: Jacket By Milton Glaser

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Signed: Inscribed by Author(s)

About this title

Synopsis:

For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story...The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book...The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation...At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting...artful, unobtrusive use of dialect...the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star

· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine

Review:

This award-winning novel remains a powerful classic of prejudice, love, and survival. In 1942, 11-year-old Phillip Enright lives with his parents on the Dutch island of Curaçao, but when the war moves too close for comfort, his mother decides to travel with him back to the safety of Virginia. When their boat is torpedoed, however, Phillip is blinded and finds himself adrift on a life raft with an old black man and a cat. They eventually land on a deserted island. Phillip is suspicious of "the large Negro," but soon grows to trust--and ultimately love--the patient and generous Timothy. Dedicated to "Dr. King's Dream," The Cay has a clear message that friendship is colorblind; it is also a terrific adventure story of a young, newly blinded man learning to survive on an uninhabited island. (Ages 12 and older) --Richard Farr

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Eclectic used and out-of-print collectable condition books and records in every genre. Cat's Curiosities closed our brick-and-mortar location in Las Vegas in late 2016, and is now an Internet-only seller, specializing in Native American; Nevada & The West; Free-market & Austrian Economics; Music & Show Business; Vintage vinyl LP records (many signed); century-old juvenile series books; Physics & Electrical Engineering, Religion & Occult.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Email vin@catscuriosities.com. For return and refund information see ABE policies. Delivery of parcels to Africa, Latin America, and Asia (except Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, India, and Singapore) can be problematic. We decline to ship to these locales, and urge prospective buyers in these regions to arrange secure shipping to safer destinations. Delivery to a relative, business associate or consular official in North America, Europe, Japan or Australia is often the best option. In our experience...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Please make sure your e-mail program will accept such an inquiry from an ABE Books address.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Money Order PayPal