The Cay

Taylor, Theodore

Published by Doubleday, 1987
ISBN 10: 0385079060 / ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Signed, dated in 1998, and inscribed to two named individuals by the author at the half-title page. Clean and bright; except for tiny spots of rubbing at the free corners of the dust jacket, as new. Jacket is now protected in a clear sleeve. 24th printing, copyright 1969 but printing date not given; jacket illustration by Jerry Lo Faro, price $15.95. 3 double-sided pages of publishers' information about the author and the full range of his work laid in. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.74 avg rating
(28,258 ratings)

Synopsis: For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story...The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book...The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation...At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting...artful, unobtrusive use of dialect...the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star

· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine

Review: This award-winning novel remains a powerful classic of prejudice, love, and survival. In 1942, 11-year-old Phillip Enright lives with his parents on the Dutch island of Curaçao, but when the war moves too close for comfort, his mother decides to travel with him back to the safety of Virginia. When their boat is torpedoed, however, Phillip is blinded and finds himself adrift on a life raft with an old black man and a cat. They eventually land on a deserted island. Phillip is suspicious of "the large Negro," but soon grows to trust--and ultimately love--the patient and generous Timothy. Dedicated to "Dr. King's Dream," The Cay has a clear message that friendship is colorblind; it is also a terrific adventure story of a young, newly blinded man learning to survive on an uninhabited island. (Ages 12 and older) --Richard Farr

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Cay
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: 1987
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Fine

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. Ex-Library copy with typical library marks and stamps. Dust jacket in acceptable condition. Cover and binding are worn but intact. A reading copy in fair condition. Seller Inventory # 1313444467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Theodore Taylor
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2865882717

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Theodore Taylor
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2867621509

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Theodore Taylor
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2870576684

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Dust Cover Missing. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I3N11

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I5N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Yankee Clipper
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Taylor, Theodore
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0385079060 ISBN 13: 9780385079068
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Seller Inventory # G0385079060I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 49 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book