Stock Image

Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir

Moss, Barbara Robinette

2,222 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 074320218X / ISBN 13: 9780743202183
Published by Scribner, Old Tappan, New Jersey, U.S.A., 2000
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Flash Books (Audubon, NJ, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 26, 2010

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
Price: US$ 35.70 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

New Unread Hardcover. 1st Edition-Stated. 1st Printing-Full # Line. Not price clipped. Not a remainder. BEAUTIFUL copy of Book & Dust Jacket. COLLECTOR'S COPY. Bookseller Inventory # 001690

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir

Publisher: Scribner, Old Tappan, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2000

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

In a stirring, powerful memoir of growing up poor in the South, the author recalls her life as one of eight children being raised by an impoverished but creative woman. 40,000 first printing.

Review:

In the tradition of Bastard Out of Carolina and Angela's Ashes, Change Me into Zeus's Daughter chronicles a child's coming of age in an abusive and dirt-poor environment. With the gripping narrative drive of both of those bestselling books, Barbara Robinette Moss's candid yet lyrical account takes hold of our hearts and doesn't let go until the final page. Her story juxtaposes heart-rending adversity with the playful chaos of eight siblings growing up in the 1960s South, with its creeping kudzu and soybean fields, its forthright and sometimes peculiar inhabitants, and its boiling racial tensions.

The hardships related here are both familiar and unique: the Christmas presents exchanged for drink money, the failed businesses, the decrepit shacks that served as temporary homes, the disturbing early-morning discipline. Under the tyrannical rule of a father who "inflicted pain recreationally, both physical and emotional," the only bright spot in Moss's childhood was her mother, Dorris. Slavishly devoted to her husband ("she seemed to crave him as much as he craved alcohol"), Dorris held the family together by absorbing most of the abuse. But in the end she lacked the courage to leave him, and her children had to act as their own protectors. As if poverty and her father's mistreatment weren't enough of a burden, Moss also had to contend with a face disfigured by malnutrition. As a result, she sought refuge in whatever elusive beauty she could find: the poetry her mother taught as a substitute for material things; the fertile, red Alabama soil; the love of her baby sister Janet. Her urge to create beauty and her longing to embody it culminate in surgery that transforms her face but brings with it a crisis of identity.

In her outpouring of memories, Moss occasionally gets lost in her tale, embedding flashback within flashback. More problematic is the portrayal of her father: he's relentlessly cruel until a near-fatal beating, after which he begins to briefly connect with his children. For us, it's too late, and we can only react to his death with a sigh of relief. But these minor quibbles are just that. Moss's extraordinary memoir enthralls us from its alarming introduction--in which Dorris feeds her starving children a meal of potentially poisonous seeds--to its poignant conclusion. --Lisa Costantino

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Selling books I've collected over the years. Autographed copies. First editions.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal