Stock Image

The Children's Hour

Willett, Marcia

566 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0552150622 / ISBN 13: 9780552150620
Published by Corgi
Used Condition: Good Soft cover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 7.67 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Kennys Bookstore
Olney, MD, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since October 9, 2009

About this Item

2004. Paperback. Clean copy, good to very good condition. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KMB0000563

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Children's Hour

Publisher: Corgi

Binding: Soft cover

Book Condition: Good

About this title

Synopsis:

Nest and Mina still live at Ottercombe, their beautiful old rambling childhood home in the depths of Devon. They came to the house before the war, when as small children they played with their sisters and brothers in the gardens and the woods and the nearby beach while their mother read them stories and their father visited at weekends. It was, in retrospect, an idyllic time, when tragedy seemed far distant. Now they welcome their children and grandchildren , and especially young Lyddie, their niece, who lives in Cornwall with her handsome husband Liam. But when their sister Georgie, now somewhat frail and forgetful, comes to stay with them, aspects of their past start to revisit them. For Georgie knows all their secrets, secrets which she wants to share...A glorious novel about half-forgotten memories and childhood secrets in the tradition of Rosamunde Pilcher, and perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Erica James and Santa Montefiore.

From the Inside Flap:

Praise for Marcia Willett

The Children's Hour
--"Astute and deeply moving." -- The Bookseller (UK)
--"A novel which reminded me of L P Hartley's Eustace and Hilda trilogy. . . . a warm novel with echoes of the past and an endearing simplicity." -- Tim Manderson, Publishing News (UK) (special selection)

A Summer in the Country
--"Willett's first book published in the U.S., A Week in Winter (2001) was very popular with contemporary women's fiction consumers, and comparisons to Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy abounded. Her second book will not disappoint her newly won fans. . . . a complex tale featuring many fully drawn characters, an engaging plot....vibrant characters, and [an] excellent depiction of the English countryside." --Booklist (starred review)
--"An intriguing relationship drama. . . . an insightful character study." --Midwest Book Review

A Week in Winter
--"Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy will definitely applaud the introduction of such an enjoyable writer." --Booklist
--"A charming story...highly recommended for public libraries everywhere." --Library Journal
--"A Week in Winter has all the elements of a perfect summer book. . . it's thoroughly engrossing, with richly drawn characters, a mysterious locale, and a beautifully crafted plot . . . the perfect addition to your summer beach tote." --The Sun-Sentinel, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
--"Captivating. . . . Set in a wild Cornish landscape that will evoke for readers Rosamund Pilcher's The Shell Seekers, Willett is a true discovery." --Michelle Slung, Victoria Magazine
--"Like Rosamund Pilcher and Maeve Binchy, Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or e-mail them to keep in touch." --Rocky Mountain News
--"A wonderful moving story of family and values set in the English countryside. It is very reminiscent of the novels of Pilcher and Binchy. I am so glad Ms. Willett is following in their footsteps!" --Marilyn Sieb, Books & Company

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to books@kennys.ie,

Conor Kenny


Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express