Comanche Sundown - A Novel

Reid, Jan

Published by Texas Christian University Press
ISBN 10: 0875654223 / ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.33 avg rating
(3 ratings)

Synopsis: Comanche Sundown is the story of the great war chief Quanah Parker, a freed slave and cowboy named Bose Ikard, and the women they love. In 1869 Quanah and Bose do their best to kill each other in a brutal fight on horseback in West Texas. But over several years, through the flash and chaos of war and killing they discover that they are friends, not enemies. They change from violent unformed youths into men of courage and decency.
The son of the ferocious warrior Nocona and the tragic captive Texan Cynthia Ann Parker, Quanah suffers the wound of being slurred and rejected by many Comanches as someone of impure blood and certain bad luck. When told he cannot marry his youthful love Weckeah, he rides off and joins another band of his people in the canyonlands and plains of the Texas Panhandle. Later, when Quanah has just emerged as a war chief in a daring rout of army cavalry, in defiance of elders and tradition he elopes with Weckeah and leads a following of the wildest Comanche bunch of all.
The enslaved son of a white physician, Bose is freed by the Civil War and rides on trail drives of longhorns into New Mexico Territory that are led by the pioneering Charles Goodnight. Bose winds up captured, utilized, and eventually valued by Quanah and his people. That period in young Bose’s life brings him into intoxicating friendship with Quanah’s other wife, To-ha-yea, a Mescalero Apache and born heart-breaker.
Comanche Sundown lays out a sprawling and plausible recast of Southwestern history that brings Pat Garrett, Billy the Kid, Bat Masterson, Colonel Ranald “Bad Hand” Mackenzie, and General William T. Sherman into one fray. In the tradition of Thomas Berger’s Little Big Man, William Styron’s The Confessions of Nat Turner, Larry McMurtry’s Lonesome Dove, and Cormac McCarthy’s All the Pretty Horses, Jan Reid’s novel offers a rich blend of historical detail, exquisite eye for the terrain and the animals, and insight into the culture, customs, poetry, and dignity of Native Americans caught up in a desperate fight to survive.

About the Author: JAN REID is a veteran writer-at-large for Texas Monthly and has contributed dozens of articles to Esquire, GQ, Slate, Men’s Journal, Garden & Gun, the New York Times Magazine, and many other leading publications. His highly praised nonfiction books include The Improbable Rise of Redneck Rock, The Bullet Meant for Me, and Rio Grande.  Reid’s first novel, Deerinwater, was published in 1985. Since then, he has devoted time between his many projects and some perilous adventures to the research and crafting of Comanche Sundown. Praised for the versatility of his writing, Reid has won honors that include a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Dobie-Paisano Fellowship, and awards by PEN and the Texas Institute of Letters. Born in Abilene, Texas, Reid grew up in Wichita Falls and for many years has made his home in Austin with his wife, Dorothy Browne.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Comanche Sundown - A Novel
Publisher: Texas Christian University Press
Book Condition: BRAND NEW

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Condition: Very Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP97428452

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Condition: Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP97523526

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jan Reid
Published by Texas Christian University Press
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Seller Inventory # G0875654223I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jan Reid
Published by Texas Christian University Press
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Dust Cover Missing. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Seller Inventory # G0875654223I3N01

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Movies
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_195234158

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Blue
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_214863400

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jan Reid
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0875654223-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 28.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mahler Books
(PFLUGERVILLE, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition; no remainder marks. Dustjacket does have some shelfwear. Inside pages are clean. ; 9.10 X 6.20 X 1.40 inches; 320 pages. Seller Inventory # 01GW18-526-087s

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 24.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jan Reid
Published by Texas Christian University Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0875654223

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 24.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Reid, Jan
Published by Texas Christian University Press
ISBN 10: 0875654223 ISBN 13: 9780875654225
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Texas Christian University Press. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2689559

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 10 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book