Stock Image

The Crowd Dreams of Love: A Novel

Leone, John

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0981717527 / ISBN 13: 9780981717524
Published by Blithedale Books, 2008
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From citynightsbooks (Allston, MA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 17, 2004

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Blue cloth, gilt titles. Author's previous books include The Theatricals, The Investment Club and World of Souls. In this futurist novel, a reclusive composer and three women drift through a surreal landscape reminiscent of Wells, Huxley and Orwell. Looks to be a fascinating book, although pub needs a proofreader. Unread, as new in like DJ. Rare in hardcover. 270 pp. Bookseller Inventory # 11018

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Crowd Dreams of Love: A Novel

Publisher: Blithedale Books

Publication Date: 2008

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: 1st Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

What do you do when the Revolution comes for you? A a futurist novel in the tradition of Wells, Huxley and Orwell, the Crowd Dreams of Love is a comic meditation on individual and social love, time and the inevitability of change. A reclusive composer of modern music is drawn inexorably into the tumult of his times by three women: Marie, an immigrant waitress with connections to the murky Sisterhood; his student the beautiful pianist Eva; and his ex-lover Caroline, now one of the most famous movie stars in the world - as famous for her political opinions as for her movie roles. The Crowd Dreams of Love asks: What does it take to start a Revolution? In the heart, and in the streets? Its world is not very different from our own, where technology has made privacy impossible, where crowds have minds separate from those in them, where massive forces overwhelm the individual, where the government rounds up dissidents and the news is mere propaganda, where people know that something terrifying is happening, without knowing what it is, where time can be traversed by longing - and where love pervades all we do.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

citynightsbooks allows/refunds within the Abebooks' guidelines. Please refer to their policy on this matter and contact us first via e-mail or telephone.


Shipping Terms:

All books shipped with foam board or corrugated protection and bubblewrap. All
hardcovers with dust jackets shipped with archival covers. Books shipped within 48
hours via USPS, media mail or priority (specify preference). Please refer to
shipping chart for specific costs.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal