Stock Image

Dangerous Skies

Staples, Suzanne Fisher

115 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0613075870 / ISBN 13: 9780613075879
Published by Rebound by Sagebrush, 1998
Used Condition: Very Good
Buy Used
Price: US$ 8.97 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since August 3, 2006

About this Item

Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP63270042

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Dangerous Skies

Publisher: Rebound by Sagebrush

Publication Date: 1998

Book Condition: Very Good

About this title


A Season of Change

Along the Virginia shoreline where their families have lived for generations, Buck and Tunes Smith defy tradition. Raised together like brother and sister, they are bound by surname, but not by skin color. And just as Buck has come to rely on Tunes, Tunes has come to trust that even in a place where race can mean so much, their friendship will remain as dependable as the tides.

But then the horrifying events of one spring afternoon tear them apart -- and change their world forever. Desperate to hang on to the thing that he values most, Buck struggles to uphold their friendship -- without realizing that his efforts are pushing Tunes farther and farther away.

From a Newbury Honor -- winning author, this is a powerfully moving story of friendship in the face of racism, and betrayal in the name of loyalty. Dangerous Skies is a 2007 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

From the Inside Flap:

Dangerous Skies is the story of a friendship that takes root among the grasses and mud flats of the back creeks of the Chesapeake Bay. Buck Smith is descended from the settlers who came from England in the 1700s to farm Virginia's Eastern Shore, Tunes Smith from the slaves who were brought from Africa to work the Smiths' farm. They were raised together from infancy; their friendship is as true and constant as the tides. But as they have grown older, the adults around them have become more watchful, and even though Buck resists the inevitable tug of change in their lives, some changes, like the seasons, cannot be stopped. Then the sudden and horrifying events of a spring afternoon change their world forever.

Told with unsparing honesty and affection, this gripping tale of betrayal will break the listener's heart as it confronts issues of racism and hypocrisy that have plagued our country throughout its history.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

100% refunds guaranteed, no questions asked.

Shipping Terms:

We ship daily!

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express