ISBN 10: 156858041X / ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: With an essay by Alexander Cockburn,Sue Coe travelled across the US, following the,path from factory farm to feedlot, to the "killing,floor" of the slaughterhouse. In over 200 pages of,stunning, unforgettable images, DEAD MEAT,graphically documents the castrations, debeakings,electrocutions and decapitations, the skewing,flaying and dismemberings; the pathos and tragedy.,An indictment of the system of corruption and,consumption that exacts such a toll from its,citizens and victims alike. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.31 avg rating
(104 ratings)

Synopsis: Offers a critical view of the meat industry in scores of illustrations, documenting the skewing, flaying, dismembering, castrating, debeaking, electrocuting, and decapitating of animals.

Review: British artist Sue Coe is well known for her social and political paintings and illustrations, which appear regularly in such publications as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Her latest effort is the disturbing book Dead Meat, a visual record of Coe's visits to 40 slaughterhouses, cattle ranches, and hatcheries to document the grisly practices of the meat-packing industry. Although she was not allowed to photograph on the premises, she was permitted to draw and sketch, and much of this work is jarringly graphic. Incorporated with the artwork are her thoughts and observations laid out in diary form. Even if you don't agree with Coe's politics, this is social and political art at its most powerful, in the tradition of Goya, Daumier, and Rockwell Kent.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1995)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995. Book Condition: Fair. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP95925123

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sue Coe
Published by Global Interprint
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Global Interprint. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G156858041XI5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1995)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Open Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Open Books is a nonprofit social venture that provides literacy experiences for thousands of readers each year through inspiring programs and creative capitalization of books. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000146582

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Big Hearted Books
(Sharon, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Bookseller Inventory # 34FCKX000GTT_ns

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1995)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookfinders
(Holmesville, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book is in good condition. Pages are clean and the binding is tight. *NOTE* Stock photo may not represent the actual book for sale. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000452488

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sue Coe
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: very good. 567 Gramm. Bookseller Inventory # M0156858041X-V

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.17
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sue Coe
Published by FOUR WALLS EIGHT WINDOWS, United States (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description FOUR WALLS EIGHT WINDOWS, United States, 1996. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: Good. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Used. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 01978156858041808. Bookseller Inventory # 01978156858041808

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Coe, Sue
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows, New York (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Bookshelf of Maine
(Franklin, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, New York, 1996. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Illustrated by Author (illustrator). 1st. Book is in excellent condition. Subject is disturbing. Graphic illustrations depict slaughterhouse conditions and techniques. Vegetarians and vegans beware. ; Ex-Library; Color Illustrations; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 136 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 3758

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

SUE COE
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brooklyn Rare Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Soft cover. Book Condition: Fine. 1st Edition. First Printing stated. Bookseller Inventory # 4013

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Coe, Sue; Cockburnm, Alexander
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows, U.S.A. (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gargoyle Books, IOBA
(La Mesa, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, U.S.A., 1996. Soft cover. Book Condition: As New. First Edition First Printing. Exposes the ugly underbelly of the meat industry & the despicable torture of animals destined for human consumption, with artistic images & ponderings by Coe, as she visited stockyards & slaughterhouses across the U.S. An Introduction by Cockburn, & Preface by Tom Regan. "Like Upton Sinclair's 'The Jungle,' Dead Meat indicts the system of corruption and consumption that exacts such a toll from its citizens." FIRST EDITION, First Printing (with statement & full number line) of this oversized softcover in 136 pages. Condition is Near Fine: looks, feels, & smells just slightly less crisp than brand new! Completely clean, binding tight & square, pages white. NO underlining/highlighting/writing; NOT ex-lib. Just a tad of edgewear is only flaw! Please see our 5 photos! Description & photos copyright Gargoyle Books 2015. All orders processed before 2 pm (Noon Saturdays) Pacific time ship Same Day; Sundays & holidays ship next business day. Bookseller Inventory # 012621

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 10 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book