ISBN 10: 156858041X / ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: With an essay by Alexander Cockburn,Sue Coe travelled across the US, following the,path from factory farm to feedlot, to the "killing,floor" of the slaughterhouse. In over 200 pages of,stunning, unforgettable images, DEAD MEAT,graphically documents the castrations, debeakings,electrocutions and decapitations, the skewing,flaying and dismemberings; the pathos and tragedy.,An indictment of the system of corruption and,consumption that exacts such a toll from its,citizens and victims alike. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.33 avg rating
(107 ratings)

Synopsis: A nationally prominent, politically oriented artist offers an unsparingly critical view of the meat industry in scores of illustrations, documenting the skewing, flaying, dismembering, castrating, debeaking, electrocuting, and decapitating of animals. Simultaneous. IP.

Review: British artist Sue Coe is well known for her social and political paintings and illustrations, which appear regularly in such publications as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Her latest effort is the disturbing book Dead Meat, a visual record of Coe's visits to 40 slaughterhouses, cattle ranches, and hatcheries to document the grisly practices of the meat-packing industry. Although she was not allowed to photograph on the premises, she was permitted to draw and sketch, and much of this work is jarringly graphic. Incorporated with the artwork are her thoughts and observations laid out in diary form. Even if you don't agree with Coe's politics, this is social and political art at its most powerful, in the tradition of Goya, Daumier, and Rockwell Kent.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1995)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Open Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995. Paperback. Condition: Good. Open Books is a nonprofit social venture that provides literacy experiences for thousands of readers each year through inspiring programs and creative capitalization of books. Seller Inventory # mon0000146582

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1995)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995. Condition: Very Good. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP67472311

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Blue
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_192108011

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_203867742

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 156858041X-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Emerald
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_212386086

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Da Book Mine
(Imperial, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: Good. The item shows wear from consistent use, but it remains in good condition and works perfectly. All pages are intact ( dust cover may be missing or if its there may be in extremly rough condition. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. May NOT include discs, access code or other supplemental material. Seller Inventory # 2UEEY3000PQD

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sue Coe
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows. Condition: Used - Very Good. 1996. Paperback. Very Good. Seller Inventory # D90101

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sue Coe
Published by FOUR WALLS EIGHT WINDOWS, United States (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description FOUR WALLS EIGHT WINDOWS, United States, 1996. Trade Paperback. Condition: Good. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Used. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 01978156858041808. Seller Inventory # 01978156858041808

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sue Coe; Introduction-Alexander Cockburn
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows (1996)
ISBN 10: 156858041X ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Four Walls Eight Windows, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG156858041X

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 11.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 14 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book