Stock Image

Dead Meat

Coe, Sue

104 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1568580509 / ISBN 13: 9781568580500
Published by Four Walls Eight Windows, New York, NY, 1996
Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From RW Books (Strasburg, VA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since February 26, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.75 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Size: 4to - over 9¾" - 12" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 12914

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Dead Meat

Publisher: Four Walls Eight Windows, New York, NY

Publication Date: 1996

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

Offers a critical view of the meat industry in scores of illustrations, documenting the skewing, flaying, dismembering, castrating, debeaking, electrocuting, and decapitating of animals

Review:

British artist Sue Coe is well known for her social and political paintings and illustrations, which appear regularly in such publications as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Her latest effort is the disturbing book Dead Meat, a visual record of Coe's visits to 40 slaughterhouses, cattle ranches, and hatcheries to document the grisly practices of the meat-packing industry. Although she was not allowed to photograph on the premises, she was permitted to draw and sketch, and much of this work is jarringly graphic. Incorporated with the artwork are her thoughts and observations laid out in diary form. Even if you don't agree with Coe's politics, this is social and political art at its most powerful, in the tradition of Goya, Daumier, and Rockwell Kent.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Established in 1993, RW Books converted from a storefront to an online store in 2005. We currently carry an inventory of about 4000 carefully selected volumes. We are not open to the public; all business is conducted online.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Checks and money orders are accepted for on line purchases. Credit card purchases must be processed through ABE. Shipping: $3.75 for media mail (bookrate), $7.50 for priority for 1st book, $1.50 extra for each additional book. International shipping at cost. We will hold books 4 days pending payment, but we only hold for firm orders. Ten day return policy. Virginia residents add 5.0% sales tax. Buyers, please specify choice of shipping when ordering and please INCLUDE THE BOOK NUMBER IN ALL ORDE...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft