Stock Image

Death at Dawn: A Liberty Lane Thriller

Peacock, Caro

697 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0007244193 / ISBN 13: 9780007244195
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2007
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Partners & Crime Mystery Booksellers (New York, NY, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 5, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 32.50 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First UK edition, signed and dated (the year of publication) by the author on the title page. Bookseller Inventory # 0809240012

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Death at Dawn: A Liberty Lane Thriller

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Publication Date: 2007

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: a new heroine for fans of Matthew Hawkwood and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. June 1837. She should have remained in the care of her sour aunt in Chalke Bissett, but Liberty Lane was never one to obey instructions. Eager to be reunited with her beloved father, she heads for Dover. But her hopes of surprising him as he steps off the boat are dashed by an anonymous note informing her that he has been killed in a duel at Calais, and commanding her to remain where she is and speak to no one. Thomas Jacques Lane -- radical, romantic, scholar, republican, gambler and devoted father -had led an unconventional life. His movements in the days leading up to his death are a mystery, but of one thing Liberty is certain: he would never have taken part in a duel, for it went against everything he believed in. And if the author of the anonymous note expected her to swallow this lie and meekly obey his command to stay put, he had severely underestimated Liberty Lane. With no resources bar her own wits, she immediately sets sail for Calais in pursuit of the truth -- and her father's killer.There she encounters a mysterious stranger who promises information in return for her services as a spy, planted in the Windsor estate of the powerful and ambitious Lord Mandeville. And as the nation prepares to celebrate the coronation of young Queen Victoria, Liberty uncovers a treasonable plot which could lead to another vicious civil war!

About the Author:

Caro Peacock grew up in a farmhouse that, for most of her childhood, contained half a dozen brothers, sisters and cousins, twice as many cats and dogs, no central heating and one bathroom that stopped working every time the spring that supplied it silted up. This possibly bred the habit of curling up in a quiet place with a book and, later, a passion for travel that led to a rather disrupted education. Somewhere along the line, she acquired a great interest in Victorian history -- which she considers a much misunderstood period -- and particularly the part played in it by independently-minded women. Caro rides horses, climbs, trampolines and spends some time every year studying wild flowers in the Alps.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

ORDERING INFORMATION: In US dollars. Phone orders
are accepted. New York State Residents add 8.25% sales tax.

BEST HOURS TO ORDER: via email 24x7.

SHIPPING: By UPS in the USA. First book $7.50, and $1.00 each additional book. Insurance is optional:
add $0.75 for orders to $50.00; $1.60 for orders to $100.00; $2.40 for orders over $100.00. A street
address is required as UPS will not deliver to post office boxes. International shipping may require a
separate quote.

All books subject to prior sale...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 3 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Overseas shipping may require a separate quote, depending on your preferences.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal