The Death's Head Chess Club

Donoghue, John

Published by Atlantic Books March 2015
ISBN 10: 1782396454 / ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Fine in Fine dj, UK First Edition, First Printing Hardcover Signed on the title page. SIGNED Protected in clear Mylar cover. Bubble wrapped and shipped in a box. We do not stock or sell ex-library or Book Club editions. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.18 avg rating
(582 ratings)

Synopsis: SS Obersturmfuhrer Paul Meissner arrives in Auschwitz wounded and fit only for administrative duty. His most pressing task is to improve camp morale, so he establishes a chess club for enlisted men. Soon Meissner learns that chess is also played among the prisoners, and there are rumors of an unbeatable Jew known as ''the Watchmaker.'' Meissner finds Emil Clement, the Watchmaker, and a curious relationship arises between them. Twenty years later, the two meet again in Amsterdam. Emil wants nothing to do with the ex-Nazi officer, but Meissner is persistent. As both men search for a modicum of peace, they recall a gripping tale of survival and trust.

About the Author: John Donoghue has published numerous articles about the treatment of mental illness in a variety of medical journals. He lives in Liverpool and The Death's Head Chess Club is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Death's Head Chess Club
Publisher: Atlantic Books March 2015
Book Condition: Fine

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Donoghue, John
Published by Atlantic Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2015. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP95995933

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # 1796049

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.66
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Bookseller Inventory # G1782396454I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Phatpocket Limited
(Waltham Abbey, HERTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Book Condition: Good. Ex-library, so some stamps and wear, but in good overall condition. Bookseller Inventory # Z1-C-067-00931

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 13.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Donoghue
Published by ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Main. Language: English . Brand New Book. SS Obersturmfuhrer Paul Meissner arrives in Auschwitz fresh from fighting on the Russian Front. After being badly wounded, he is fit only for administrative duty and his first and most pressing task is to improve flagging camp morale among the officers and the enlisted men. He sets up a chess club, which thrives as under-the-table bets are made on the results of the games. When Meissner learns from a chance remark that chess is also played by the prisoners, however, he becomes intrigued by the rumour of a Jewish watchmaker who is unbeatable .A deeply moving novel about an impossible friendship between a Nazi and a Jew, The Death s Head Chess Club challenges us to consider what might be the very limits of forgiveness and what might be the cost of a lifetime of bitterness. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9781782396451

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books 2015-03-05, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books 2015-03-05, London, 2015. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781782396451

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # L9781782396451

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.55
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

John Donoghue
Published by Atlantic Books Mrz 2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AHA-BUCH GmbH
(Einbeck, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books Mrz 2015, 2015. Buch. Book Condition: Neu. Neuware - An intelligent novel exploring the difficulties of guilt and forgiveness in an impossible friendship between a Nazi and a Jew. For readers of John Boyne's 'The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas'. Englisch. Bookseller Inventory # 9781782396451

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 35.02
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

John Donoghue
Published by ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ATLANTIC BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Main. Language: English . Brand New Book. SS Obersturmfuhrer Paul Meissner arrives in Auschwitz fresh from fighting on the Russian Front. After being badly wounded, he is fit only for administrative duty and his first and most pressing task is to improve flagging camp morale among the officers and the enlisted men. He sets up a chess club, which thrives as under-the-table bets are made on the results of the games. When Meissner learns from a chance remark that chess is also played by the prisoners, however, he becomes intrigued by the rumour of a Jewish watchmaker who is unbeatable .A deeply moving novel about an impossible friendship between a Nazi and a Jew, The Death s Head Chess Club challenges us to consider what might be the very limits of forgiveness and what might be the cost of a lifetime of bitterness. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9781782396451

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

DONOGHUE John
Published by Atlantic Books, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782396454 ISBN 13: 9781782396451
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brook Hill Books
(Horsham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, London, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: As New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. 1st Edition. Signed & Dated by John Donoghue to the Title Page. The Book & Dust Jacket are in As New condition. This unread book is guaranteed to be a 1st Edition, 1st Printing. Publishers number sequence 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 confirms that this is a first printing. The Jacket, which has not been price clipped, is protected by archival protective covering. The book is professionally wrapped and packed with great care with bubble wrap and placed in a special book box to ensure that the book arrives at your destination in perfect condition. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000679

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 21.58
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 6 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book