Dirty Dishes: A Restaurateur's Story of Passion, Pain, and Pasta

Pino Luongo and Andrew Friedman

Published by Bloomsbury USA, 2009
ISBN 10: 1596914424 / ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.38 avg rating
(53 ratings)

Synopsis:

The ultimate insider's story: a no-holds-barred memoir by the legendary restaurateur, from his boyhood in Tuscany to his rise, fall, and rebirth in the New York food world.

Everyone has an opinion about Pino Luongo. To Anthony Bourdain, he was the notorious Pino Noir, the shadowy kingpin of a restaurant empire. To Manhattanites, he was either the savior or the scourge of the city's dining scene. To the many fans of his cookbooks, he was the herald of T uscan cuisine.

In Dirty Dishes, Luongo emerges to tell his side of the story. And what a story: After an idyllic (and well-fed) childhood in Tuscany, Luongo came to New York as an actor, but soon fell into, and then in love with, the restaurant business. Within ten years, he had risen from a position as a dishwasher to build a string of the hottest restaurants in the city. In the decade that followed, he reigned as one of the undisputed kings of New York nightlife, earning a reputation for brilliance, charm, and volatility. But after a flirtation with a corporate chain went sour, he left behind the empire he had built and returned to his first love: the kitchen.

Luongo is a natural raconteur, and his memoir is full of hilarious and jaw-dropping stories of the New Y ork restaurant world, taking in everyone from Sylvester Stallone and Jackie Onassis to Andy Warhol and Tim Zagat. Accompanying all this are ten of Luongo's all-time favorite recipes. For fans of Kitchen Confidential and The Devil in the Kitchen, this book is not to be missed.

About the Author:

Pino Luongo is among the most successful and renowned restaurateurs in the world. He has started and maintained restaurants in New York, the Hamptons, and Chicago, including Le Madri, Coco Pazzo, Tuscan Square, Il Cantinore, and Centolire. He is also the author of several cookbooks.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Dirty Dishes: A Restaurateur's Story of ...
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication Date: 2009
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2009)
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2009. Book Condition: Very Good. 1st. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP14921516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2009)
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2009. Book Condition: Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP10306036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA (2009)
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA, 2009. Book Condition: Good. 1st. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP9930627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory # 2624444314

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2765950866

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Pino Luongo, Andrew Friedman
Published by Bloomsbury USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2775728219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Andrew Friedman; Pino Luongo
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Second City Books
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Very good condition - book only shows a small amount of wear. Bookseller Inventory # G1596914424I4N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Andrew Friedman; Pino Luongo
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G1596914424I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Andrew Friedman; Pino Luongo
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. This copy shows very minor wear. Bookseller Inventory # G1596914424I4N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Andrew Friedman; Pino Luongo
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN 10: 1596914424 ISBN 13: 9781596914421
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing USA. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Book shows a small amount of wear - very good condition. Bookseller Inventory # G1596914424I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 24 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book