ISBN 10: 1590585097 / ISBN 13: 9781590585092
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: Worlds within worlds-enter into a very special culture with unwritten rules.Brian McNulty, veteran bartender at Oscar's on the Upper West Side, respects his customer's privacy. And their space. But when one--a tarnished but innocent young woman seduced by New York's bright lights and glitter--is murdered, and another battered innocent charged with killing her, he reluctantly begins his own investigation. Brian's enthusiasm for the chase is given a boost with the arrival of the dead girl's sister, a young business woman from Massachusetts, equally bent on uncovering the killer. She's put off by his jaded attitude and offbeat lifestyle, but comes to rely upon his familiarity with the city's darker underside. Brian, in turn, enlists the aid of a cadre of neighborhood cronies. The suspects: all of the regulars at Oscar's, each with more to hide than the next. A leftist politcally, a dedicated union man, Brian learns that when you dig into people's lives, rich or poor, you find things kept hidden for good reason. By stirring up these ghosts, you change the shape of the landscape and put your friends in harm's way. This special first novel comes wrapped in art work created for it by famed artist Fritz Scholder. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.82 avg rating
(244 ratings)

Synopsis: Tom Bridger, who is half Melungeon, thought he had escaped his mountain community's lingering prejudice against the mixed-race group when he left to work for the Richmond, Virginia Police Department. Tom was moving up the detective ranks when a family tragedy brought him back home and moved him into his fatheras job as a county sheriff's deputy.
Now the bones of a Melungeon woman who disappeared ten years ago have surfaced on a remote mountaintop, and all evidence points to murder. Violence escalates as the victim's poor family and the wealthy white family she married into scramble to protect their secrets from Tomas probing. But as he probes into his father's investigation of the case, he finds his father was not the man he idolized.
The woman Tom is falling in love with, veterinarian Rachel Goddard, is struggling to start over in a place that holds no memories for her. Rachel puts herself in danger when she befriends the dead Melungeon womanas niece, Holly. As a child, the girl witnessed something that could implicate her aunt's killer, but she is too terrified to tell anyone what she knows. While Rachel is determined to keep Holly safe and help her piece together past events, the guilty are equally determined to silence the girl--and Rachel too, if necessary.
Will this murder be Tom's and Rachel's undoing or will it free them to look into the future?

About the Author:

Sandra Parshall, a native southerner, worked as a reporter in South Carolina, West Virginia, and Baltimore. She lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, a longtime Washington journalist, and their cats.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Book Condition: Used

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sandra Parshall
Published by Poisoned Pen Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, 2008. Book Condition: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP69897136

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sandra Parshall
Published by Poisoned Pen Press
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2795827898

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. This is a former library book with library stickers and stamps. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001561078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
Used Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press. Book Condition: As New. Signed Copy . Signed/Inscribed by author on title page. Bookseller Inventory # CA00A-00538

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1590585097 Ships from Tennessee, usually the same or next day. Bookseller Inventory # ETC9998LJGG092117H0345C

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sandra Parshall
Published by Poisoned Pen Press, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Praise for Disturbing the Dead. Edge-of-the-seat suspense and a budding romance for Tom and Rachel make this essential reading for fans of Margaret Maron and Karin Slaughter. -Library Journal starred review Tom Bridger, who is half Melungeon, thought he had escaped his mountain community s lingering prejudice against the mixed-race group when he left to work for the Richmond, Virginia Police Department. Then a family tragedy brought him back home and moved him into his father s job as a county sheriff s deputy. Now the bones of a Melungeon woman have surfaced on a remote mountaintop, and all evidence points to murder. Violence escalates as the victim s poor family and the wealthy white family she married into scramble to protect their secrets from Tom s probing. In the meantime, Tom s new love, veterinarian Rachel Goddard, struggling to escape her own past, puts herself in danger when she befriends the dead woman s niece. The girl witnessed something that could implicate the killer, but she is too terrified to tell anyone what she knows. The guilty are determined to silence her-and Rachel too, if she interferes-changing Tom s investigation into a personal quest to lay the dead.and the living.to rest. Sandra Parshall is a native southerner who worked as a reporter in South Carolina, West Virginia, and Maryland. She lives in Northern Virginia. Bookseller Inventory # IPS9781590585092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press 5/1/2008 (2008)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press 5/1/2008, 2008. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Disturbing the Dead: A Rachel Goddard Mystery. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781590585092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 1590585097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sandra Parshall
Published by Poisoned Pen Press, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Praise for Disturbing the Dead. Edge-of-the-seat suspense and a budding romance for Tom and Rachel make this essential reading for fans of Margaret Maron and Karin Slaughter. -Library Journal starred review Tom Bridger, who is half Melungeon, thought he had escaped his mountain community s lingering prejudice against the mixed-race group when he left to work for the Richmond, Virginia Police Department. Then a family tragedy brought him back home and moved him into his father s job as a county sheriff s deputy. Now the bones of a Melungeon woman have surfaced on a remote mountaintop, and all evidence points to murder. Violence escalates as the victim s poor family and the wealthy white family she married into scramble to protect their secrets from Tom s probing. In the meantime, Tom s new love, veterinarian Rachel Goddard, struggling to escape her own past, puts herself in danger when she befriends the dead woman s niece. The girl witnessed something that could implicate the killer, but she is too terrified to tell anyone what she knows. The guilty are determined to silence her-and Rachel too, if she interferes-changing Tom s investigation into a personal quest to lay the dead.and the living.to rest. Sandra Parshall is a native southerner who worked as a reporter in South Carolina, West Virginia, and Maryland. She lives in Northern Virginia. Bookseller Inventory # IPS9781590585092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Parshall, Sandra
Published by Poisoned Pen Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 1590585097 ISBN 13: 9781590585092
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Poisoned Pen Press, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9781590585092_lsuk

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 15 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book