Dog Run Moon: Stories

Wink, Callan

ISBN 10: 0812993772 / ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4 avg rating
(429 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best American Short Stories.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE DYLAN THOMAS PRIZE · 2017 PEN/HEMINGWAY AWARD HONORABLE MENTION

A construction worker on the run from the shady local businessman whose dog he has stolen; a Custer’s Last Stand reenactor engaged in a long-running affair with the Native American woman who slays him on the battlefield every year; a middle-aged high school janitor caught in a scary dispute over land and cattle with her former stepson: Callan Wink’s characters are often confronted with predicaments few of us can imagine. But thanks to the humor and remarkable empathy of this supremely gifted writer, the nine stories gathered in Dog Run Moon are universally transporting and resonant.

Set mostly in Montana and Wyoming, near the borders of Yellowstone National Park, this revelatory collection combines unforgettable insight into the fierce beauty of the West with a powerful understanding of human beings. Tender, frequently hilarious, and always electrifying, Dog Run Moon announces the arrival of a bold new talent writing deep in the American grain.

Praise for Dog Run Moon

“[An] excellent first book of stories . . . One of the great things about Dog Run Moon is how resilient and funny [the characters] are. They’re at the end of their ropes, but they can still howl about the joy and pain each day brings, as if the young Levon Helm were singing their stories. . . . This is Thomas McGuane territory, and also that of writers like Joy Williams and Jim Harrison.”The New York Times

“Wink is definitely not a writer of half measures; each of these stories demonstrates his ability to lay life bare. A significant collection highly deserving of the spotlight.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Myth and history color these highly satisfying fictions about the way men and women struggle to shape their lives.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The perils of work and the weight of bequeathal fuel these stories, and each one holds a lasting, unshakable image. Sometimes grace is bestowed upon the characters in a sidewindering, not altogether fabulous fashion; sometimes it’s not bestowed at all. Callan Wink seems to know well the stratagems and delusions of men’s hearts. He also seems born and bred to short-story mastery.”—Joy Williams, author of The Visiting Privilege

“Callan Wink’s debut is impressive indeed. Fine, old-fashioned, rich and juicy fiction. Weeks later I’m still living with the characters.”—Jim Harrison, author of Legends of the Fall

“Callan Wink’s fresh, urgent stories have an energy and propulsion that set them well apart from the cerebral finger painting of so much literary fiction. Here is a writer with a great big horizon.”—Thomas McGuane, author of Crow Fair

“Callan Wink’s stories remind me of expertly tied trout flies—beautifully crafted, true to reality, and barbed. What a fine young writer.”—Ron Rash, author of Above the Waterfall

“As in all the best collections, each and every story in Dog Run Moon sings in the essential registers of love and death, work and nature. Callan Wink has the wisdom to write only of the things that matter, and the talent to make these stories as fresh as the literary headwaters from which they come.”—Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek

About the Author: Callan Wink was born in Michigan in 1984. He lives in Livingston, Montana, where he is a fly-fishing guide on the Yellowstone River. He is the recipient of an NEA Creative Writing Fellowship and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University. His work has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, Men’s Journal, and The Best American Short Stories.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Dog Run Moon: Stories
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Condition: Very Good. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP94629713

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Condition: Fair. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Seller Inventory # GRP97409064

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Callan Wink
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Seller Inventory # G0812993772I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Callan Wink
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Seller Inventory # G0812993772I3N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Softcover. Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good copy.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Seller Inventory # OD2029329

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Softcover. Condition: Used: Very Good. Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Seller Inventory # 046987

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Movies
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_191246419

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wink, Callan
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Seller Inventory # S_202815665

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Callan Wink
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0812993772-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Callan Wink
Published by DIAL BOOKS PENGUIN BOOKS (2016)
ISBN 10: 0812993772 ISBN 13: 9780812993776
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DIAL BOOKS PENGUIN BOOKS, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. HARDCOVER Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. May have small mark or shelf wear Fiction and Poetry>Literature>A to Z. Book: REMAINDERS, Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 02978081299377601. Seller Inventory # 02978081299377601

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 10.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 24 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book