The Dream Life of Astronauts: Stories (Signed First Edition)

Patrick Ryan

Published by The Dial Press, New York,, 2016
ISBN 10: 0385341385 / ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

First edition, first printing (with full number sequence including the 1). Hardbound. Brand new! Very Fine in a very fine dust jacket. A tight, clean copy, new and unread. Comes with archival-quality mylar dust jacket protector. NOT price clipped. Shipped in well padded box. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page, his name only, with no other marks or writing. You cannot find a better copy. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.8 avg rating
(379 ratings)

Synopsis: For readers of Tom Perrotta and Lorrie Moore, these nine unforgettable stories, all set in and around Cape Canaveral, showcase Patrick Ryan’s masterly understanding of regret and hope, relationships and family, and the universal longing for love.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
St. Louis Post Dispatch · Refinery 29 · Electric Literature

The Dream Life of Astronauts balances heartbreak with wry humor as its characters try to make sense of the paths they find themselves on. A would-be Miss America auditions for a shady local talent scout over vodka and Sunny D; a NASA engineer begins to wonder if the woman he’s having an affair with is slowly poisoning her husband; a Boy Scout troop leader, recovering from a stroke, tries to protect one of his scouts from being bullied by his own sons; an ex-mobster living in witness protection feuds with the busybody head of his condo board; a grandmother, sentenced to driver’s ed after a traffic accident, surprises herself by falling for her instructor.

Set against landmark moments—the first moon launch, Watergate, the Challenger explosion—these private dramas unfurl in startling ways. The Dream Life of Astronauts ratifies the emergence of an indelible new talent in fiction.

Praise for The Dream Life of Astronauts

“[Ryan] displays a gift for excavating the dashed hopes and yearnings that lie beneath. He is especially adept at capturing the point of view of children, with a Salingeresque understanding of their alienation, their vulnerability, their keen powers of observation.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“Quietly commanding . . . A wry and smart collection—a beam of intelligent life from an author who clearly likes to probe the outer edges of the familiar.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Ryan is a master of that old-fashioned, captivating storytelling that deceptively reads as effortless. . . . Ryan never actually sends his characters into space; but his orbits of the human heart are enough.”The New York Times Book Review

“Ryan brings a wry sense of intimacy to these dreamers who are always searching for a better life, for something new.”—BBC

“Patrick Ryan’s short stories go down lightly—but that doesn’t mean they’re lightweight. In the best of them, Ryan’s transparent prose and seemingly casual tone sneakily ensnare you in tough moments and wryly rueful deflations of the heart and spirit.”The Seattle Times

“You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate this funny collection of stories set around Cape Canaveral. Moon missions and shuttle launches take a backseat to the earthly predicaments faced by the eclectic cast of Boy Scouts, gangsters, grandmothers and beauty queens.”The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“There is humanity and heart in each one of these tales, all rendered with nuance and depth that will leave a mark on your thoughts long past the final pages.”Refinery29

“Patrick Ryan’s characters are people who are a little more beaten down than they know. They are not introspective by default, and yet, due to circumstances, they are forced to look into themselves and find something that, in his own phrase, feels like life.”Literary Hub

“The author illuminates [his] characters with pitch-perfect dialogue and period references that capture the various decades in which the stories take place.”Publishers Weekly

About the Author: Patrick Ryan is the author of the novel Send Me, as well as three novels for young readers. His work has been published in Granta, Tin House, Crazyhorse, and One Story and anthologized in The Best American Short Stories. He lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Dream Life of Astronauts: Stories (...
Publisher: The Dial Press, New York,
Publication Date: 2016
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st Edition..

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Patrick Ryan
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0385341385I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Patrick Ryan
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: As New. This copy appears to be in nearly new condition. Bookseller Inventory # G0385341385I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Patrick Ryan
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Bookseller Inventory # G0385341385I4N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goodwill Books
(Hillsboro, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Sound copy that may show minimal signs of wear or previous ownership. Bookseller Inventory # 3IIEN5001GX7

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ryan, Patrick
Published by The Dial Press
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Housing Works Bookstore Cafe
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press. Book Condition: Like New. Minimal wear to cover. Pages clean and binding tight. Hardcover. Bookseller Inventory # FU2-00359

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ryan, Patrick
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Softcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Bookseller Inventory # 054426

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ryan, Patrick
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Softcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good copy.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Bookseller Inventory # OD2039717

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ryan, Patrick
Published by The Dial Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Gmedia
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press, 2016. Softcover. Book Condition: Used: Very Good. Very good.Paperback Advanced Reading Copy. Paperback Plain cover pre-release first-edition. Artwork black and white, some artwork and images might be missing. Copy not final and there may be typos. Bookseller Inventory # OD062495

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Ryan, Patrick
Published by The Dial Press
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Central Kentucky Book Supply, LLC
(Nicholasville, KY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Dial Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. 0385341385 100% Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # Z0385341385Z1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Ryan, Patrick
ISBN 10: 0385341385 ISBN 13: 9780385341387
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best and Fastest Books
(West new york, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: VeryGood. Well kept copy with jacket, solid binding, unmarked text, light jacket wear, great interior. We take great pride in accurately describing the condition of our books, ship within 48 hours and offer a 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 1M5FFL0007TK

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 33 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book