Stock Image

Drop Dead Cute: The New Generation of Women Artists in Japan

Vartanian, Ivan

88 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 081184708X / ISBN 13: 9780811847087
Published by Chronicle Books, San Francisco CA, 2005
Condition: Fine Condition Soft cover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Exquisite Corpse Booksellers
Houston, TX, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since April 4, 2006

About this Item

159 pp., over two hundred illustrations in color. Crisp, tight, sharp condition, with an uncreased spine and a clean interior free of markings. Bookseller Inventory # 008380

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Drop Dead Cute: The New Generation of Women ...

Publisher: Chronicle Books, San Francisco CA

Publication Date: 2005

Binding: Stiff Wrappers

Book Condition: Fine Condition

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

Drop Dead Cute showcases the work of 10 cutting-edge female Japanese artists whose art combines the pop charge of Takashi Murakami and Yoshitomo Nara with a thrilling personal mixture of sweetness and power. This next wave of painters and illustrators from the red-hot Japanese art scene blend aspects of manga, anime, and traditional art with their own idiosyncratic visions to create work that is international in appeal yet uniquely Japanese. This gorgeous book features profiles of the artists based on fresh interviews, along with a generous survey of their art. Also including new work by pioneering art world superstar Yayoi Kusama that salutes these extraordinary young artists, Drop Dead Cute is a must-have for fans of Nara and Murakami, as well as anyone interested in contemporary art and pop culture.

interior image: Chiho Aoshima, Japanese Apricot 2, 2000. Inkjet printer on paper. 104.9 x 74.9 cm. Copyright 2005 Chiho Aoshima/Kaikai Kiki Co., Ltd.

About the Author:

Ivan Vartanian is an author and editor specializing in drawing, photography, and design. He has been based in Tokyo since 1997.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Rare, used and out of print books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items are described to the best of our ability and guaranteed to be as
described. Returns are accepted according to the regulations of ABE. Postage and
insurance are additional. Money orders accepted. Credit Cards through ABE. All
items are subject to prior sale. Any questions about your order can be addressed
to Paul Forsythe, 2509 Mandell Street, Houston, TX, 77006, USA. email:
mcalmon@aol.com. Telephone: +1 713.807.8347.


Shipping Terms:

Orders ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express