Stock Image

Eagle in Exile: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy Book II

Smale, Alan

389 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1101885319 / ISBN 13: 9781101885314
New Condition: New
From Pbshop (Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 20, 2015

Quantity Available: 6

Buy New
List Price: US$ 9.99
Price: US$ 7.33 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781101885314

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Eagle in Exile: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy ...

Publication Date: 2016

Binding: PAP

Book Condition:New

About this title


Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale’s gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.
In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.
After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won’t stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

Praise for Alan Smale and Eagle in Exile
“In Alan Smale, speculative fiction has been dealt a winning hand. Part historian, part anthropologist, part scientist, Smale is a Renaissance man with a storyteller’s gift for letting tireless research inform the narrative without overwhelming it. Smale entertains, educates, and enraptures.”—Myke Cole, author of Javelin Rain
“[Eagle in Exile] has the pace and scope of a Michener or Uris epic. . . . Smale’s action scenes slash across page after page, intense and bloody. . . . Grab your dagger and sword, for the battle continues.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Warfare, political conflict, family strife—these are all presented in an epic scope where any decision or wrong move can forever change society.”—Tech Times
“Thoroughly believable . . . Marcellinus is a complicated man, a hero we can all get behind.”—Historical Novels Review
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author:

Alan Smale grew up in Yorkshire, England, and now lives in the Washington, D.C., area. By day he works at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center as a professional astronomer, studying black holes, neutron stars, and other bizarre celestial objects. However, too many family vacations at Hadrian’s Wall in his formative years plus a couple of degrees from Oxford took their toll, steering his writing toward alternate, secret, and generally twisted history. He has sold numerous short stories to magazines including Asimov’s and Realms of Fantasy, and he won the 2010 Sidewise Award for Best Short-Form Alternate History.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Ordering - Please place your order via the AbeBooks website and allow 2 working days for dispatch from our US Warehouse. Delivery thereafter is 4 to 14 business days. Returns - We hope you will be delighted with everything you buy from us. However, if you do need to return an item to us, we kindly ask that goods are returned in their original condition within 14 days of receipt. In this instance the return cost must be borne by the buyer. In the event you receive an item which is not as advertis...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Ships from our US Warehouse in approximately 2 working days. Delivery thereafter is 4 to 14 business days.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express