Eagle in Exile: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy Book II

Smale, Alan

ISBN 10: 1101885319 / ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used / PAP / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.24 avg rating
(464 ratings)

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale’s gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.
 
In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.
 
After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won’t stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

Praise for Alan Smale and Eagle in Exile
 
“In Alan Smale, speculative fiction has been dealt a winning hand. Part historian, part anthropologist, part scientist, Smale is a Renaissance man with a storyteller’s gift for letting tireless research inform the narrative without overwhelming it. Smale entertains, educates, and enraptures.”—Myke Cole, author of Javelin Rain
 
“[Eagle in Exile] has the pace and scope of a Michener or Uris epic. . . . Smale’s action scenes slash across page after page, intense and bloody. . . . Grab your dagger and sword, for the battle continues.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Warfare, political conflict, family strife—these are all presented in an epic scope where any decision or wrong move can forever change society.”—Tech Times
 
“Thoroughly believable . . . Marcellinus is a complicated man, a hero we can all get behind.”—Historical Novels Review
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author: Alan Smale grew up in Yorkshire, England, and now lives in the Washington, D.C., area. By day he works at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center as a professional astronomer, studying black holes, neutron stars, and other bizarre celestial objects. However, too many family vacations at Hadrian’s Wall in his formative years plus a couple of degrees from Oxford took their toll, steering his writing toward alternate, secret, and generally twisted history. He has sold numerous short stories to magazines including Asimov’s and Realms of Fantasy, and he won the 2010 Sidewise Award for Best Short-Form Alternate History.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Eagle in Exile: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy ...
Publication Date: 2016
Binding: PAP
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alan Smale
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G1101885319I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Alan Smale
Published by Del Rey
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2968803048

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_231474466

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Blue
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_226546063

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Smale, Alan
Published by Ballantine Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cozy Book Cellar
(Bellingham, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Del Rey, 2016. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: Very Good -. Premium mass market edition. Very Good Minus. Clash of Eagles Trilogy Book Two. Seller Inventory # 423053

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Nerman's Books & Collectibles
(Pembina, ND, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Paperback. Condition: Very Good Plus. A very good plus paperback. Seller Inventory # 2AD5927

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Alan Smale
Published by Del Rey (2016)
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey, 2016. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 1101885319-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wit's End Books
(Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey. PAPERBACK. Condition: Fine. 1101885319 Packaged Carefully & Shipped Promptly. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Seller Inventory # 010938

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey. PAPERBACK. Condition: Very Good. 1101885319 Little wear on the cover. Seller Inventory # Z1101885319Z2

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Smale, Alan
Published by Del Rey
ISBN 10: 1101885319 ISBN 13: 9781101885314
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Del Rey. PAPERBACK. Condition: Fine. 1101885319 Remainder mark. Seller Inventory # Z1101885319Z1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 37 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book