Stock Image

The Education of Mrs. Bemis : A Novel

Sedgwick, John

Published by HarperCollins Publishers, New York, NY, U.S.A., 2002
ISBN 10: 0060195657 / ISBN 13: 9780060195656
/ Condition: Fine / Hardcover
Quantity Available: 1
From Kennedy Books (Jamestown, ND, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 45.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Education of Mrs. Bemis : A Novel

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers, New York, NY, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

Fine unread copy protected by Archival Brodart Cover. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 000237

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.47 avg rating
(138 ratings)

Synopsis:

Powerful, elegant, moving, and suspenseful --
the drama of an aged Boston matriarch's
unlikely bond with her young caregiver and
the buried secrets that haunt her

Meet Madeline Bemis, dowager of one of Boston's oldest Brahmin families: gracious, distinguished, refined. Meet Dr. Alice Matthews, resident psychiatrist at the Montrose Psychiatric Hospital: young, smart, passionate, and desperately in search of her own identity. When Alice finds the elderly Mrs. Bemis curled up on a bed in Filene's furniture department, suffering from an apparent breakdown, she immediately wants to help, and arranges to have Mrs. Bemis brought to Montrose.

As her therapist, Alice is soon probing deeper into Mrs. Bemis's past than she ever expected, pushing the formidable woman to reveal her shadowy psychological history. Through memories and dreams, Alice and Mrs. Bemis begin to piece together a heartbreaking saga, replete with shameful secrets and forgotten sorrows, that reaches all the way back to the 1940s, and turns out to be unexpectedly linked to a recent unsolved murder. The two women are drawn to each other in a way that goes far beyond the ordinary doctor-patient relationship, and as their intimacy deepens, Alice realizes that Mrs. Bemis's recovery -- and perhaps even her safety -- depends on her coming to terms with her secret history.

In the tradition of Susan Minot's Evening and Anna Quindlen's One True Thing, The Education of Mrs. Bemis is a mesmerizing and riveting story of friendship, murder, and romance, beautifully told and ultimately redemptive.

About the Author:

John Sedgwick is the author of the novels The Dark House and The Education of Mrs. Bemis, and contributes regularly to Newsweek, GQ, and The Atlantic, among other publications. He lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Kennedy Books
Address: Jamestown, ND, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: March 13, 2004
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

North Dakota residents add 5% sales tax. All items are subject to prior sale;
prices are subject to change. Any book may be returned within ten days of receipt.
Notice of decision to return is requested.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Welcome to Kennedy Books. We have spent many years collecting modern firsts, many signed. We focus on fiction, poetry, biography and books on the craft of writing and the joy of reading.