Stock Image
Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.75 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Returns Policy

The Education of Mrs. Bemis

Sedgwick, John

ISBN 10: 0060195657 / ISBN 13: 9780060195656
Published by Harper, 2002
Used Condition Fine Hardcover
From Southron Books, LLC (Lexington, SC, U.S.A.) Quantity Available: 1
Available From More sellers View all  copies of this book

Signed by Author 0060195657 This hardcover book is Fine, being square and tight. The boards and spine have no wear with pristine lettering. The pages and endpages are clean, with no markings or folds. The dustjacket is As New. Original Price is intact. Not ex-lib. No remainder mark. This copy is signed by the Author on the title page without inscription. Bookseller Inventory # 007195

About this title:

Synopsis:

Powerful, elegant, moving, and suspenseful --
the drama of an aged Boston matriarch's
unlikely bond with her young caregiver and
the buried secrets that haunt her

Meet Madeline Bemis, dowager of one of Boston's oldest Brahmin families: gracious, distinguished, refined. Meet Dr. Alice Matthews, resident psychiatrist at the Montrose Psychiatric Hospital: young, smart, passionate, and desperately in search of her own identity. When Alice finds the elderly Mrs. Bemis curled up on a bed in Filene's furniture department, suffering from an apparent breakdown, she immediately wants to help, and arranges to have Mrs. Bemis brought to Montrose.

As her therapist, Alice is soon probing deeper into Mrs. Bemis's past than she ever expected, pushing the formidable woman to reveal her shadowy psychological history. Through memories and dreams, Alice and Mrs. Bemis begin to piece together a heartbreaking saga, replete with shameful secrets and forgotten sorrows, that reaches all the way back to the 1940s, and turns out to be unexpectedly linked to a recent unsolved murder. The two women are drawn to each other in a way that goes far beyond the ordinary doctor-patient relationship, and as their intimacy deepens, Alice realizes that Mrs. Bemis's recovery -- and perhaps even her safety -- depends on her coming to terms with her secret history.

In the tradition of Susan Minot's Evening and Anna Quindlen's One True Thing, The Education of Mrs. Bemis is a mesmerizing and riveting story of friendship, murder, and romance, beautifully told and ultimately redemptive.

About the Author: John Sedgwick is the author of the acclaimed psychological thriller The Dark House and, now, the psychological mystery, The Education of Mrs. Bemis, as well as three works of non-fiction. A longtime magazine journalist, he is currently a writer at large for GQ, a contributing editor for Worth, and a columnist for Boston. He has been a contributing editor for Newsweek as well as the national correspondent for Self. He has written for The Atlantic, Town and Country, and The New York Times, among many other publications. He is a member of the Sedgwick family of Massachusetts, whose ranks include Judge Theodore Sedgwick, an early speaker of the House of Representatives; Catharine Maria Sedgwick, one of the first female American novelists; Ellery Sedgwick, a longtime editor of the Atlantic Monthly; and Edie Sedgwick, the Andy Warhol protégée. A Harvard graduate, he lives in Newton, Massachusetts, with his wife, the biographer Megan Marshall, and their two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Education of Mrs. Bemis

Publisher: Harper

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

Payment Methods

Payment Methods Accepted by Seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer

Seller Southron Books, LLC
Address: Lexington, SC, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Seller Since December 7, 2011
Seller Rating 5-star rating


Terms of Sale:

A. David Ruple. Southron Books, LLC. 602 East Main Street Suite D Lexington SC 29072. adruple@sc.rr.com. (803) 520-8098.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: We focus primarily on First Editions, Modern Fiction, Southern Fiction, South Caroliniana, and South Carolina authors.