Elementary Theory of Nuclear Shell Structure.

GOEPPERT-MAYER, Maria (1906-1972) & J. Hans D. JENSEN (1907-1973):

Published by New York, etc.: John Wiley & Sons, 1955., 1955
Used Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From Ted Kottler, Bookseller (Redondo Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 5, 2002

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 250.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First Edition. xiv, 269 pp; figs. Original cloth. Near Fine, in very good+ dust jacket. Structure of Matter Series. Maria Goeppert-Mayer and J. Hans D. Jensen shared 1/2 of the 1963 Nobel Prize in Physics, 'for their discoveries concerning nuclear shell structure.' 'Among the many subjects being discussed at the Institute [for Nuclear Studies at the University of Chicago] was the question of the origin of the chemical elements. Teller was particularly interested in this subject and induced Maria Mayer to work with him on a cosmological model of the origin of the elements. In pursuit of data required to test any such model, she became involved in analyzing the abundance of the elements and noticed that there were certain regularities associating the highly abundant elements with specific numbers of neutrons or protons in their nuclei. She soon learned that Walter M. Elsasser had made similar observations in 1933, but she had much more information available to her and found not only that the evidence was stronger but also that there were additional examples of the effect. These specific numbers ultimately came to be referred to as 'magic numbers,' a term apparently invented by Eugene Wigner. . . . Maria Mayer and Jensen were not acquainted with one another at the time, and they did not meet until her visit to Germany in 1950. In 1951 on a second visit, she and Jensen had the opportunity to start a collaboration on further interpretation of the spin-orbit coupling shell model, and this was the beginning of a close friendship as well as a very productive scientific effort. It culminated in the publication of their book, Elementary Theory of Nuclear Shell Structure (1955). They shared the Nobel Prize in 1963 for their contributions to this subject' (Biography of Goeppert-Mayer on the UCLA Physics Department Web site). 'In 1948 she started to work on the magic numbers, but it took her another year to find their explanation, and several years to work out most of the consequences. The fact that Haxel, Jensen and Suess, whom she had never met, gave the same explanation at the same time helped to convince her that it was right. She met Jensen in 1950. A few years later the competitors from both sides of the Atlantic decided to write a book together' (Biography of Goeppert-Mayer on the Nobel Foundation Web site). Bookseller Inventory # 21886

Bibliographic Details

Title: Elementary Theory of Nuclear Shell Structure...

Publisher: New York, etc.: John Wiley & Sons, 1955.

Publication Date: 1955

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: 1st Edition

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

CREDIT CARD ORDERS MAY ONLY BE ACCEPTED ON BEHALF OF ABE. Personal/bank/traveler's checks (made payable to Ted Kottler), money orders, international money orders are fine. All books are First Editions, in original cloth bindings, and in Very Good or better condition, unless otherwise noted. Returns: with prior notice and within 10 days. I am always interested in purchasing First Editions of scholarly, hardcover books in the history of science and the history of medicine, as well as First Edition...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash Bank Draft