Stock Image

Someone Else's Garden

Rai, Dipika

355 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0007355114 / ISBN 13: 9780007355112
Published by HarperPress
New Condition: New Soft cover
Buy New
List Price: US$ 17.50
Price: US$ 7.70 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Kennys Bookstore
Olney, MD, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since October 9, 2009

About this Item

A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story. Num Pages: 416 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 141 x 26. Weight in Grams: 284. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KTJ0024812

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Someone Else's Garden

Publisher: HarperPress

Binding: Soft cover

Book Condition: New

About this title

Synopsis:

A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story.`Will she recall that night? Or is it one of those too horrible times that her brain, taking pity on her soul, will choose to wipe out the memory? When she realizes what happened, she will recall it as the night she did her duty for her family, with no sense of shame or lingering fear. She will be matter-of-fact about it, resigned and, therefore, resilient.'Mamta, born low-caste and female in rural India against a backdrop of poverty and prejudice, is destined to be some man's property. Her father says that bringing her up is only `tending someone else's garden' until a husband is found for her. Eventually saved from becoming one of the nameless and faceless millions of rejected humanity, Mamt survives but at a terrible cost.Lyrically told, this powerful story of a woman's struggle to find acceptance compels us to question: Is life random? Or do we have a destiny?

From the Back Cover:

The eldest of seven children,born low-caste and female in rural India,Mamta is abused and rejected by a father whocan see no reason to “water someone else’s garden” until ahusband is found for her. Seeking escape in matrimony, Mamta beginsher wedded life with hope—but is soon forced to flee her village and thehorrors of her arranged marriage to the bustle of a small city. Saved from becomingone of the nameless and faceless millions of rejected humanity by thesalvation of sublime love, Mamta struggles to find a precarious state ofacceptance and make peace with her past.

Powerfully affecting and uplifting, set against a vivid and colorful backgroundof Eastern life, Dipika Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden transcends geographicaldivides and cultural chasms to brilliantly expose the commonalityof the human condition, compelling us to seek answerswithin ourselves to humanity’s eternalquestions: Is life random?Do we have a destiny?

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to books@kennys.ie,

Conor Kenny


Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express