Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great

Eva Stachniak

Published by Bantam, 2014
ISBN 10: 0553808133 / ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
2.97 avg rating
(860 ratings)

Synopsis: Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak’s enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia’s Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.
 
“We quarrel about power, not about love,” Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor’s edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history’s greatest rulers.
 
Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.

Praise for Empress of the Night
 
“[Eva] Stachniak’s absorbing novel opens readers’ hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . . Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak’s story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for fans.”RT Book Reviews
 
“Stachniak’s insight into the opulent lives of Russia’s rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . . Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler.”Library Journal
 
“The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically intense . . . vivid descriptions.”Quill & Quire
 
“Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time.”DuJour
 
Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine’s life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers, intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page.”Virtuoso Life

About the Author: Eva Stachniak was born in Wrocław, Poland. She moved to Canada in 1981 and has worked for Radio Canada International and Sheridan College, where she taught English and humanities. Her debut novel, Necessary Lies, won the Books in Canada First Novel Award in 2000. Her first novel of Catherine the Great, The Winter Palace, was included in The Washington Post’s 2011 list of most notable fiction. Stachniak lives in Toronto, where she is at work on her next novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine ...
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: 2014
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2766554528

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bayside Books
(Livermore, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2766918832

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2774772616

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: As New. Only slightly differentiated from a new book. Undamaged cover and spine. Pages may display light wear but no marks. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Eva Stachniak
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0553808133 ISBN 13: 9780553808131
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Bookseller Inventory # G0553808133I4N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 23 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book